April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colors

by PhilZ - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT NOTE: If the character has floaty controls, it's not a glitch. The colors on the floor changes the abilities of the character, as in make him slippery or able to jump higher. After the player turns blue (not turquoise), head back to the beginning and jump down the lavafall to win.



This was my first attempt on Ludum dare. I think it went okay. The game itself is extremely short, but hopefully enjoyable.

The story is that a painting is breaking down, and this little strange fellow you play as must escape by jumping through the lava colored waterfall (the one in the beginning of the game).


Controls:

Move - arrow keys
Jump - Spacebar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Theme(Jam)3.70
#216Mood(Jam)3.13
#250Graphics(Jam)3.30
#292Innovation(Jam)2.90
#309Audio(Jam)2.78
#448Overall(Jam)2.67
#449Fun(Jam)2.35
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

D33jay says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

This game's artstyle caught my attention quickly. It really fits the "minimalism" theme. It all flows together and is quite pretty. The music is soft and has a good tempo, fitting the slower pace of the game. The gameplay is so-so. The collision gets very glitchy at times and you will get stuck in walls a lot. The movement/controls aren't very tight and there is a lot more delay than necessary. I do like in the gameplay how you learn what is happening through game events. For example, when you first start and walk over the green paint, you change color. It's a good indicator. Then, when you find out how to the right is a dead end, the only other way is left, telling you, "Hey, this is non-linear!" It works well. The jumping can also be very annoying due to the poor collision, unfortunately. All in all it's fairly well done in 48 hours.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Fits theme well. Loved the mood.

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

Controls could've been less glitchy but I love the art style and idea!

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Can't get it to run - Graphics card error...

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

What kind of operating system do you have? What are your specs?

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Love the graphics and sound. the game play is a bit meh though. cood concept though. I think with a bit more care and time this could be really really fun

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Some of the collisions are buggy and the mechanics of the player are frustrating. Great art.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Love the mood, nice game!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I like the art style. It's very simplistic. It froze after I played for a couple minutes. I couldn't figure out where to go at first. The slippery controls were a nice touch.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

The game works, but I'm not going to rate it because I can't really do anything. Collisions are off a bit, and whenever I jump into the waterfall I just glitch out and go off-screen. Also I get an error in the beginning about saving.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I see what you were going for. But I don't know if I'm stupid or something, but I couldn't get past the second room.
The collisions are a bit glitchy.
But with some polishing and refinement I could see this actually shape up to be a cute puzzle game.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Nice job! other than the issues with collision I found it to be pretty enjoyable. However, I couldn't figure out what to do after the room with the falling orange block. Could use a bit more polishing but it fits the theme well and is fun to play. Also the potato block made me laugh.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

404 server not found :/

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

oh, the other link worked.

Tozy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

you need to get those physics and collisions checked :P
sorry, i couldn't enjoy this game. but it's a finished game and that always deserves a congratulation! Not everyone succeeds at that in their first try :)

S0larCode says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:25am

Interesting...

May 2, 2013 @ 5:16pm

The nice-looking graphics drew me in but the incredibly floaty/slidey controls and glitchy collisions immediately prevented me from having any fun with this game. And it made my computer bluescreen when I pressed esc to exit.

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:39am

A fascinating idea, but the game is too short and too buggy to really make good use of it.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:07am

Well hey, that was a creative concept. Changing the player's color to give them different attributes really could be used in a ton of innovative ways. Unfortunately, there wasn't too much done with it. I really wish it affected your powers or how you interacted with the environment or enemies somehow.

Also, I got stuck in the walls a few times. Still, this was a charming game. The graphics were very well done and I liked exploring a giant, minimalistic painting. Good going!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]