April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pato Loco

by fermcg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pato Loco is a platformer.

Game in action: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNCIphjiuH8
Development cast: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XrXEe7Yr98A

The main character gets numbers which give him power. Red recovers health (as soon as he gets to enemies that are not lethal as the spikes), blue gives double jumps and green enhances his missile reach.

To start playing enter the door pressing up.
Z jumps, X shoots.
F for fullscreen.

There are OSX and Windows compo and post compo versions.

Update 13:
A bug fix... Getting an energy filler while blinking (after being hit) could cause you to lose your energy filler.

Update 12:
Fixed a bad mapping in stage 3.

Update 11:
Windows and OSX Final version. Lifes, energy replacers and some fixes!

Update 10:
Changed some dlls - the package wasn't working in some machines.

Update 9:
(Changed on windows only)
Many Improvements:
Lifes, Fire ball hits you but does not kill you (just takes energy), Score makes sense, Compiled with Visual Studio 2010 runtime so I hope it will run on Windows XP machines too.

Update 8:
(Changed on windows only)
Added msvcp110.dll and msvcr110.dll to the distribution.

Update 7:
(Changed on windows only)
Gravity does not affect the shot anymore.
Shooting bouncing fireballs slow them.
Fireballs at the last stage.
Update 6:
I think windows dependency problems are solved (version 0.4.1).

Update 5:
Organized links - added the windows "Compo" version.
(finally compiled the original version in windows - it sucks anyway - play it, vote, and play the post compo!!!)

Also added a video with compo and post compo scenes!

Update 4:
Many improvements made to the game. It supports a XBox 360 controller (I tested my wired one). controls improved. There are only three stages and I didn't implement lifes / continues yet, and it's really hard to pass the 3 stages.

A post compo version for OSX.

Update 3:
Added msvcp100.dll and msvcr100.dll. A friend of mine reported that it's not working in Windows 8 even after adding these dlls. If it happens to you too, please let me know.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5mhq7uf63tp4haq/patoloco-win32-v0.3.zip

Update 2:
I just released a new version which just changes the game's first screen with the game's official logo and without the "press space" - Actually you have to enter the door to play.

There's a Readme.txt file that tells a non-documented key (f for fullscreen).

New version: https://www.dropbox.com/s/csbgf85qxifj9oz/patoloco-win32-v0.2.zip
Update 1:

Now there's a windows version, but it's not the original game. I had to port to SFML and I made some improvements - so consider the windows link a post-compo version:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tr3xylgh62d8oby/patoloco-win32-v0.1.zip

Since he still has no enemies despite the spikes, I changed the red powerups to increase his shot power. Double jumps now can be used just one time after you jump (So there are note triple or quadruple jumps as before).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#819Humor1.88
#931Audio2.00
#1002Graphics2.45
#1039Fun2.42
#1120Innovation2.24
#1181Mood2.07
#1260Overall2.32
#1279Theme2.48

Comments

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The windows version will be make soon ?

daniel2357 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:40am

Don't have OS/X.

fermcg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Sorry - couldn't get a working windows version - I've tried in two PCs (still without a PC here) - After having it compiled SDL2_mixer (unstable) was crashing at runtime. Anyways I'm porting it to SFML and as soon as I get a running version I will release, but it won't be a LD 26 version since I'm rewriting a big part of it.

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Interesting concept. Would love to play it on windows or web.

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Can't play - no OSX :-(

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:50am

Can't play ((

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:44am

Nice game, well done!

Andy West says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:39am

Sorry, I am running Windows so didn't rate it.

May 7, 2013 @ 4:54am

Collisions were wonky - keypt hitting "invisible walls" above some tiles.

dick_claus says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:37am

Pretty nice game for mac os/x. Not so many native games found to play.

Korda says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:47am

Very minimal, well done!

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Now there's a windows version.

moomoo112 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:46pm

takes away all my double-jumps when I press jump once..

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:09am

I played the windows version. I loved the touch in the entry menu, it was a nice minimalist tutorial =).

May 8, 2013 @ 2:12pm

The OS/X version threw an exception when I tried to run it, so I could not play the game.

fermcg says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:51pm

recursive frog
What's your OS/X version? I just tested it in mountain lion. I have an old macbook at home that is snow leopard or lion - It didn't run there either... I'm coming out with a dmg+app version (post compo game - more features - ported from SDL 2 (unstable) to SFML 2.0 (stable).

angelk says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:37am

I think the first platformer I played this LD that had good controls! The audio was eerie but pretty jarring.

maloki says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:54am

Played the windows version.

Pretty good & solid game. It would have been nice to ease in the player with the different platforming mechanics.

For one, I didn't think of running quickly to move to a nearby platform instead of jumping. Only found out later as I watched the YouTube video.

I liked the main character's animation. Simple & smooth. :D The shooting sound though is much too long, IMO, and gets pretty annoying quickly.

Aside from that, good job. :D

naufr4g0 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:07am

I'm playing windows version and it works correctly. What's difference between OS/X and WIN versions, graphic library apart?

fermcg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Hey folks, thanks for the suggestions and comments. I'm trying things in game mechanics... I'm short of time this week, but I think in the weekend I might come out with something.

naufr4g0: The mac version is the "compo" version - it's the one I managed to finish in the 48 hours. It doesn't scroll and uses SDL 2.0. The new version uses SFML (I rewrote everything that made reference to the SDL funcions). The reason I did it: I couldn't have a windows version with the current SDL 2.0 - My mistake to choose an unstable under development framework. I didn't want to go back to SDL 1.0 because It would use software rendering internally - Porting to SFML was easy and I liked it so much that I'm sticking with it.

I'll release a post compo version for mac too as soon as I get to a "consistent" version. I'm playing with new tiles, trying to fix the double jump issues etc. Perhaps some mobile enemies. Feel free to follow my twitter: @fermcg. I'll announce there when the next version is out.

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:02am

Shit damn this has nice controls, fun as hell too, great job.

fermcg says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Lol I've spent "some time" into the controls... Sadly I didn't spend too much time (yet) making stages.

farmergnome says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:54am

Still impressive, even more so since it was a comp game.

alien9 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:02pm

congrats, you ruined my day. Addictive!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]