April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sightless

by donan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with the awesome tool Construct2 by Scirra.
------------------------------------------------
Controls: arrows.
Accept webstorage data to enable saved scores on your browser.
Use "I" button for an inverse darkness experience.
------------------------------------------------------
Warning: Play the game having enough time, cause it can be really time consuming :P
------------------------------------------------------
Only tested Windows app and Web version. On Windows app you gotta scale the window to the size you want it to be.

Tools:
Photoshop, Construct2, Sonar, BFXR, LMMS(Sonar didnt want to export the music)

Enjoy :D

Edit:Removed OSX version cause it didnt seem to work right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#165Audio3.40
#344Innovation3.40
#375Overall3.35
#448Fun3.10
#489Graphics3.12
#523Mood2.92
#655Humor2.09
#840Theme3.24

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

controls were a little wonky at first but overall this is pretty awesome

Zillix says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:29pm

this is a really cool idea. great execution! the sound cues were also very well done

cmayhem says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:44pm

The controls may get too frustrating after a while, otherwise very nice.

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

The sounds and music are great!

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:24am

Controls are a bit difficult

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

Very innovative!

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

Very nice game! Wouldve been even more immersive if the controls felt a bit more natural

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

This is pretty cool, I like the graphics. I can't really tell what you're trying to do for minimalism other than the player though.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Bouncing around the levels was a cool mechanic which should be developed more. I found myself getting lost in the later levels. Also, as a suggestion, bouncing against walls should reset the light immediately. Otherwise, with a little more work it could be become something even better. Good job.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

Very cool idea, and I really like the art style. As others have commented, the controls are a little wacky - I'd call them 'drunk spaceship style'. But good job!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51am

Great game and different :D!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

I like it :)

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

Thx everyone :D. The controls might be a bit wacky, but it was hard to give complete freedom to move + physic of bouncing in such a small time :) Considered a button to stop in the air, but it might have made it too easy. After ludum will continue working on the idea ^^

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

There are few other echolocation games in this compo, but I like this one the most so far. It represents echolocating much better than ones where you cannot see walls even when some sound is played. And it's much more playable.

Too bad amount of light is independend of the sound type and volume (or too little dependend so I didn't notice).

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Thx mortus, i didn't think about it, but your idea to make sounds light different time based on objects sound its really good. Only thought about that on the last levels sound.

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I really liked the idea (haven't seen this mechanics before!), despite what others say, I kinda liked the controls and surely wouldn't call them `wacky' :)

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Really cool game. Kind of hard to control but its a great idea!

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

What a happy game :D Music makes me think about hours spent on Fostral in "Vangers"

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Oh wow, didnt know that game, but it really looks similar the start of that song :)

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Good entry. The controls are interesting, but also frustrating at times. Levels were a bit too drawn-out, but otherwise well executed

henrykun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

I really like the music, it's catchy. At the beginning it was difficult to understand how to move the player but once I got it, was awesome. Good job!.

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Start transcription:
What the... the controls are all... what i can't see where I'm... oh ok so that square... woah this is floaty...
[snip to a few minutes later]
WEEEEEE!!! BOUNCE! WEEEEEE!!! AAAAARGH WHERE AM I? BOUNCE! WEEEEEE!!!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

A game works or doesn't work. This game works very well. Highest score.

donan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

Thank you everyone :D
After the ludumdare will follow your advices and make the game controls better :) Also i have plenty of ideas in my mind, like "light zones" because of sound, rotating levels, shape changes, timed levels, damage walls, breakable walls, etc...

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

nice concept for a puzzle game, a little bit frustrating sometimes, i like the graphics style. nice entry!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Yeah, controls are hard but I think that's the point, it's what makes the game interesting. Nice job!

heuermh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

Sorry, didn't seem to work for me on OS/X. Will try on linux later.

donan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50am

Heuermh, it uses webgl. I know it works on firefox and chrome for osx (tested it at work), but im not sure about safari or the osx executable :/

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:40am

Crazy little game! I liked the graphics and the music is nice as well. I seemed to have full visibility at times when I think the game mechanic meant I shouldn't? Not a problem though, had a lot of fun playing this.

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:19am

As soon as you disable the door colors, the warp makes a sound that creates a big echo filling the level and making map visible. That way its easier to go back :)

Muu? says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:26pm

A little slow on my machine, but it was a interesting idea. The little music loop fit perfectly with the game.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Curious game! The music can get repetitive but at least its not too flashy. I liked the lighting effect when you touch a wall :) Nice work!!
By the way: It doesn't open on OSX and the web version has a lot of lag in Chrome. At least for me!

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Thx Alberto. Just removed OsX version because it seems to be troublesome.

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I like the light fx and the level design, I enjoyed the game ,thanks

kirby_freak says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:25am

Played through a few levels. Sad to say it didn't hold my interest that long, but I think part of that is because a new MMO just finished downloading. :P Very well made though! I really enjoyed the music, and the concept is pretty cool. Controls are a bit odd though, and the random lights turning off every 5 seconds or so seems a bit pointless. Maybe find some way to make the game mechanic more important? Of course, I only did the first few levels, so maybe it is later on. :) Otherwise, great job!

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Awesome concept and great audio!
I didn't finish the game but the levels I played seemed well designed and made good use of the lighting mechanic. Very cool :)

aquilicoco says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Good work! love the music.

paulopn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:57am

Great concept, sound and graphics, but it felt a little too hard to control, perhaps more than it should. Very good, anyway! =D

ferasmi says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:49pm

it is really hard, but a nice game.

kddekadenz says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Cool graphics and nice music, but the gameplay sucks. Floating from one colored dot to another, staying close to the walls is not challenging and entertaining. Also, don't name the archive of your game after the distribution (e.g. 'linux').

lotusgame says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I like the way everything gets dark. It's a very unconventional maze game ! Too bad the controls are a little bit fuzzy and have angered me :s Anyway, it's a nice polished game. Good job :)

Parabol says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:26am

Interesting control scheme, felt strange at first, but I loved it once I got used to it. Love the music too.

PaulSB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:56am

The controls are a bit frustrating but this is otherwise a very solid effort! Looks good, nice situational blindness mechanic. And good job getting some music in, always good to see (hear).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]