April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shooter

by harleylaurie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I am a first year programming student at the Academy of Interactive Entertainment.
Created with C++ in visual studio 2010.
Used GLFW, with a framework built by AIE.

Website: harleylaurie.wordpress.com
Twitter: @harley_laurie
AIE: www.aie.edu.au

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#657Fun2.87
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Game launched, but crashed immediately in Win XP (32 version).

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10am

Fixed all the bugs I know of, just in time :P

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

fun little shooter, liked it

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

nice little shooter..reminds me abit of robotron :) crashed when i tried to close it tho.. win764bit

Zaszx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

Very nice game for a first game jam. I think it could be better with some more types of enemies

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:51am

i feld and loocked so good. very well!

imagnity says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Who doesn't like a minimal shooter? I do! :)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Sound programming effort but I'd say the game falls short of being compelling for a few reasons:

-The enemies start spawning in a tad too fast
-They spawn randomly (sometimes right next to the player)
-They shoot too often.

So rather than skill, one needs luck.

A few ideas:

-Have a spawn animation/icon in the spawn position for a few seconds before the enemy appears
-A few different enemy types, so that not every guy has the fast burst shot
-Slowmo ability

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:15am

Tried playing the game; unfortunately when I run it, I get a flashing grey screen and cannot continue. Running Window 7 64-bit.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]