April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Garm

by Lizzip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Roam around in the darkness eating food to stave off (or quicken) your demise. Survive as long as you can. If you see "Him" you lose 10 seconds, because he's just so damn scary!

Food spawns in sets of 10. 10 spawn, then when you eat all 10 a new set of 10 spawn in random places. Food is infinite.

Available on website http://magicsheepgames.co.uk/LD.html for download and gameplay/development videos.
Windows and source code both downloaded as a .zip or .rar
Source code is zipped/rar c# visual studio 2010 project

Current record I have seen so far is 290 - Feel free to post screen shots if you beat this


Fixed bugs:

- Food sometimes does not respawn (or 1 food spawns outside of map and is unreachable) *WORKAROUND* If you cannot find the last food item, press 'R' (only works if 1 item remains to be found of the set of 10)

- "Him" model does not draw, so he is invisible (maybe that's a super power?) *FIXED*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#639Mood2.79
#641Audio2.55
#714Humor2.00
#956Theme3.09
#1068Innovation2.34
#1132Overall2.56
#1141Fun2.26
#1159Graphics2.20

Comments

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:14pm

After a 120 seconds or so I ate all the food, and there was nothing left to interact with. The timer said I have 100 seconds to wait, so I just quit :S

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

That's annoying, thanks for bringing it to my attention. Food spawns in sets of 10, when you eat all 10 the next 10 appear and its infinite until time runs out. There's also a bug where "Him" is no longer drawn after ~150 seconds survived or so. I shall fix these and update later today

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

It would have been nice to have some indicator between positive food and negative food. Fun idea though.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I agree with the previous comments on the lack of distinction between rotten and okay food.

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I kind of like the lack of distinction esp. as a minimalist meditation on the pointlesness of feedback, videogames, life, love, etc.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

The two bugs mentioned above are fixed/poor workaround. If you cannot find the last food item of a set of 10 (i.e you've found 9 but cannot find the 10th, 19 but cannot find the 20th) press 'R' to spawn 10 new food items and remove the missing one.

In the context of this game it wouldn't make sense to make the good/bad food items distinguishable as this game is based on randomness. If you only got the good stuff you would have infinite time and wouldn't have respawning food. In this game it's your choice to eat the food in the hopes of elongating your time. But I do agree, in a more fleshed out game based on skill instead of randomness then food should be noticeably good or bad

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Sorry :( My next LD submission will hopefully be on web to stop OS dependencies

Egan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

Very interesting game. Enjoyed the mechanic that you can't see the world around you. Would have preferred a WASD control scheme than point and click but that is just me.

Great effort.

crneumre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Good game,had fun playing it.
Awesome mood.

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Interesting. It seems like you were going for a survival or horror/suspense feel?

I didn't feel like I had too much control over planning my survival--my survival depended more on my ability to keep running. It's skill in execution rather than skill in strategy. I could see that part getting pushed a little further. If the running around was fine-tuned some more it could be a bleak little survival horror game.

The enemy/scary threat in the darkness is a little too arbitrary to be really scary. There are probably a bunch of different ways to help with that...maybe have the time-stealing happen after a moment, so the player has a split second to get further away? Probably lots of ways to do it.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I survived and missed item spawn three times! Interesting game!

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:50am

Tense feeling, and nice work with audio.

After you restart the game, it feels like you just continue the game with new time.

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Minimalistic indeed.

I can't understand why one "food" gives 20 and others take away 10. And why that thing appears that take away seconds and how to counter.

Also never ever use installers for small games and the ones people only plays once! Very annoying!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]