April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1BtnBounce

by Fnkee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalism. The way I wanted to implemented this concept, was by giving the player nothing more than one button to control. Only with this one button, can the player achieve his goal; to defeat 10 flying whatevers.

For optimal experience, I strongly recommenced you download the game, instead of playing it through your browser.
(Silly me, forgot to include a preloader. Oh well.)

CTRL + F for fullscreen.

Good luck, and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#174Audio3.37
#260Overall3.48
#374Graphics3.30
#395Fun3.16
#405Innovation3.31
#577Humor2.20
#632Theme3.46
#668Mood2.76

Comments

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

This is actually pretty cool. Remind me to come back to this so I can vote on it.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

The game was really fun and addicting. I tried my hardest but I could only defeat 5 guys. The game is hard but quick paced, and that's what makes it addicting. At first I didn't like the one button control but after I got used to it, it worked really well. Simple but awesome entry.

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

This was fun. A dodge-ball like mechanic could be cool for co-op. Where if your teammate hits 5 blue tiles in a row without dying you can bring them back...or something like that.

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

Thanks for great feedback guys!

@Zathalos: Happy to hear you found it addicting. Great job, it took me a long time to get to 5 myself.
@cacciatc: Yeah, I like the sound of that idea! I've been thinking about 2v2 versus mode as well. Shooting them beams at each other!

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Neat concept, good execution. Also good audio.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

As simple as the controls are, it took me a few games to figure them out. =)
Cool music!

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

The controls are a bit weird but I like the style and the music is great!

Misfit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Nice retro feeling. Awesome "parallax" scrolling effect. Audio is great.

Kilian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Interesting controls. Took me plenty of retries to figure them out - after that it's real fun :-)
Nice sprites and music. I'm just missing a few sound effects.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

This was actually really fun when I figured out how I was controlling the little dude. Loved the graphics too!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Challenging and fun.
Also the music is mighty fine.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Is the player suppose to always move? I felt like I had almost no control in the game. I like the visual though

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:30pm

An old-school, flying through futuristic metropolis, arcade style boss level with modern design. So much fun, especially when you can get a streak of gracefully bouncing from platform to platform.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Thank you so much for all this epic feedback! Based on all this, I can improve the game to something more.

@cinnamonmelonpig: Yeah, it's supposed to always move, but you can change direction with "L" anytime. It takes a couple of tries getting used to. Good luck!

@ohsqueezy:Glad you liked it! I'll be sure to add more stages and enemies once Ludum Dare is over!

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I loved the concept, well linked with the theme. Graphics were simple but well executed. But I might be stupid I haven't really understood how to play this the correct way :)

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:44pm

That is a pretty cool game. I like how touching the platform and shooting at the enemy are tied together. There is still a bit of balance to be done, but I like it.

What did you use to make the music??

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:30pm

@BlackDogg: Thank you! As there is only one button to be pressed in the game, the navigation takes a couple of times to figure out. Pressing the button changes the direction of the character and your main objective would be to defeat 10 of those flying purple thingies by bouncing on platforms. A platform equals shooting a projectile. I have only been able to complete the game once myself.

@caranha: Thanks caranha! Indeed, I need to balance the game even more. I'll probably continue working on the game after LD is over. To make the music, I used magical8bitplugin VST with FL Studio.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Fantastic, I love one-button games, but I'm not creating enough to make one as interesting as this, good job! :)

Ludipe says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Simple, fun and hard. I love the coop option, everything is better with a friend.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Soooo Hard! But sweet!

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Nice audio and graphics. Good job!

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Dang, whoever composed the music for this one has a serious knack for it. The gameplay was simple and fun, and you clearly went above and beyond to include a two-player mode. Oh, and of course the graphics look wonderful. Fantastic game!

docix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:32pm

So.... hard..... yet..... so..... easy. Awesome concept and great execution! Great job!

StMatn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Nice game! Coop was a very cool idea. The sound is awesome, it reminds me of the old-school 8-bit-games.

dalbinblue says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Best music I've heard in a game so far; reminds me of the music from Final Fantasy Adventure. As for the game, fun, but really hard to control. I only ever managed to hit four enemies in a single game.

MrBlade says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Good game, I love the sound. Keep up the great work!

free_napalm says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Interesting mechanic, but really, really hard game. It's hard to survive even without the enemies. Maybe if you could also kill enemies by jumping on them it would be reasonably difficult?

DkCub23 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:48am

Great game! I love the graphics. If I had to pick, I'd say the graphics are better than the gameplay. But both are great!

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Man!!! I wish I could kill more!

SusanTheCat says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:08am

I loved the graphics. They were very smooth and adorable. The parallax movement was spot on.

angelk says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:04am

I really like how interesting the gameplay can be with the simplicity of just one button. I appreciate the co-op option! I think the hardest part was location awareness; since I kept flying off screen I kept losing exactly where I was.

csanyk says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:27am

For some reason the controls didn't seem responsive to my input. Couldn't really play it.

Fnkee says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Thanks for playing, rating and commenting on my game everyone! After the judging ends, your comments will be the new foundation of what I will improve as I continue working on the game. Once again, thanks everyone (:

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]