April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zephyr

by joe40001 - Jam Entry

Zephyr: How minimalist rules (get the spheres to overlap) can make complex, challenging, and engaging gameplay.
NOTE: IMPORTANT INFO AT THE BOTTOM OF POST

Not completely polished but very playable. This game will definitely have a life after LD26. So keep an eye out for future versions of this game. Until then, I hope you enjoy the LD26:72H Version.

The goal of Zephyr is simple: Get the different colored Spheres to overlap, the more spheres overlapping when you score them, the more points you get, but as time goes on your various Zephs can get frozen so it's worth it to keep scoring them as often as you can.

Arrow keys move
A/D tilts the camera
F instantly brings the next Zeph
Enter switches colors
Spacebar "Scores"

I really hope you enjoy (and I hope I caught all the bugs).



***NOTES UPDATE 1***
Due to a large amount of people confused on the gameplay mechanic I am making a short tutorial video, I will link to it here so if you are confused come back and revisit this post in about an hour.

***NOTES UPDATE 2****
Here it is, a tutorial video for the game, hopefully it clears up all your questions. Sorry for the confusion and I hope you guys do enjoy my game.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJrN71aE2vI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#212Innovation(Jam)3.17
#259Audio(Jam)2.94
#400Humor(Jam)1.58
#419Mood(Jam)2.46
#441Theme(Jam)2.73
#453Graphics(Jam)2.50
#488Overall(Jam)2.52
#527Fun(Jam)2.02

Comments

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26am

So I didn't quite get done all I wanted to with this game, but I did get a lot done so I feel good about it. Not bad for my first LD. The instructions are a bit "minimalist" but hopefully people find their way to enjoying this game.

Now I'm off to play/judge some other people's games followed promptly by sleep. Congrats to everybody else who participated.

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

This seems like it has great promise as a relaxing, chillout puzzle game. I really liked the selection of the music, although the game itself was not very intuitive to me (and I failed quite quickly).

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26am

Needs better tutorial.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23am

I liked the concept here, but the controls need some work. Definitely a solid idea in there though.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

Thanks everybody for the feedback. Yeah there were a few things I really wanted to add to the game but I just ran out of time. A tutorial was chief among them. As it is it takes a bit to get used to the controls/flow of the game.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Man, this is a really entry, especially for your first one. Welcome to the community, and congrats. Really suits the mood well too, and it's nice and relaxing.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

The graphics and sound was good. I didn't quite get the hang of the controls, though. I seemed to get lost or not quite get why I couldn't move like I wanted to. This looks like the sort of puzzler I would enjoy though! :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I liked the music, though I could not understand how to play the game.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice idea, but it was bit hard to control the game.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Thanks for the feedback I'm going to be linking a short tutorial video here. So check back soon, all.

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:38am

Not bad, although a bit confusing at first (I hadn't realized that it works in 3d, maybe you should make the default camera angle rotated a bit so it would be visible at start).
Very good music, but since it's creative commons, I can only rate you for selecting a good piece.

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:01am

Awesome concept, really innovative, a bit difficult without watching the tutorial video. Controls need a bit of work, but still really good! Great work!

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:46pm

This is a really interesting puzzler. my two cents: I'd like the camera to be zoomed in a bit, and the Zeph a bit more opaque. after playing a while I went for the big combo scores, and then it became too much for my brain. I kept losing track. But it was very enjoyable!

dcarogame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:47am

no se entiende bn

joe40001 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:51am

@MrShoestore

Thanks for the feedback, yeah little tweaks like that are super easy to do, and stuff I wish I caught before my final submission. I don't know if uploading a new build with a better opacity would be against the rules though, so I won't risk it.

Still awesome that you like it, I hope in a post compo version to work out all the quirks and add more Zeph shapes/improve the game mood. If I pull all this off as planned maybe I'll have a neat little time killer game I could port to tablets or something. : )

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:32am

seems cool but could not quite figure out the controls -- nice effort.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:45am

Nice game! Very challenging

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:56am

Played the game for a while. It was relaxing, but wasn't sure what the game over condition would be. The music and pace of the game is nice and relaxing though.

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:00am

Thanks, game over condition is when all the Zephs are locked in place, the goal is to get the highest score you can before that happens, as you advance in levels the rate at which they spawn increases. In a post compo version of the game what level you are going to be on as well as the tone of that level will become more clear as I plan to change music/backgrounds depending on the level. Think of this game in the same style as tetris. (Except maybe more Zen)

DST says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:00am

This is very fun! :D You are right to want to do more with it! :) Also, thanks for posing a tutorial, it made it much easier to start :D

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:23am

The controls were pretty wonky, and it took me a little time to get used to them. I also wasn't sure what I was doing, so a more explicit tutorial would help. Great music and atmosphere though!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:25am

@Cake, did you watch the tutorial video?

Rafael Sales says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:34am

Cool game. I tried to play the game by myself, but it was totally impossible. I needed to watch the tutorial with high attention to understand what's going on. I believe that the game concept is really good, but you need to simplify a lot the mechanic, because 4 minutes to explain your mechanic is too much. Congratulations anyway!

May 11, 2013 @ 2:44am

Found it a little confusing at first but reading the instructions again helped me wrap my head around it. Fun game and a fairly interesting concept.

joe40001 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:09pm

My goal was to take a minimalist rule (get spheres to overlap) and make a deep, complex, engaging game out of it. (Akin to tetris) There were some polish elements I didn't get finished in time but I am very happy to hear feedback from those who took the time to "get it". :) Now somebody go beat my high score on kongregate! :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]