April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Block Man

by RyanK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Block Man. Platformer game where you can toggle activation between red and blue blocks on the fly, that is necessary to complete the game. 12 levels, all unlocked from the start if you wish to skip any.

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys to move
Z or space to jump
X or F to toggle red/blue blocks
Esc or P to pause

Known bugs:
MAJOR: Sometimes the jump doesn't work.
Can stick to walls
Sometimes not dying on spikes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#598Audio2.64
#615Humor2.15
#700Fun2.82
#790Overall2.95
#824Mood2.61
#917Theme3.15
#971Innovation2.53
#1150Graphics2.21

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Nice idea (:

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52am

Solid gameplay but the graphics lacks a bit..

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04am

Pretty good fun. Not sure if it's the post-LD tiredness but found it really hard ;)

justin35f says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Decent game. Controls weren't the best, but I've seen worse today.

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Needed to tighten the controls, other than that good job.

RyanK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Hi guys - creator here.
I am aware the controls aren't the best. I know the jump key is sometimes unresponsive. Is it specifically the keys I chose or? Personally I would rather use a controller for it though.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I feel like the player character is a little too slippery. The control scheme itself is serviceable, I just feel like the character should accelerate and decelerate faster. Doing that would tighten up the controls immensely and make the game feel much more responsive. I gave up on the level where you had yellow trampolines at the bottom of pits lined with spikes, because I felt like I couldn't prevent my character from flying into a wall.

Aside from that, I feel like you taught the player the mechanics of the game well. New mechanics were introduced at a steady pace, which kept me interested in playing. Good job!

queader says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Good game, nice idea, but this jumping bug...so frustrating. ;)

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Nice gameplay ideas, a little lack of graphism. Not bad :).

reverso13 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice, but too loud the sound of death... =P

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:35pm

If the controls were a little bit more responsive, this could be lots of fun.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Not a bad game but not brilliant either. Had a few bugs that difficult the gameplay and the sounds turned out to be a bit annoying after 2 minutes.

ming_tea says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:36am

Pretty good game, I think. I think the guy was a little slippery, but still fun.

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:39am

I got stuck in the walls a few times, and that level with the spikes on the ceiling and walls where you had to fall into the chasms and bounce to progress seemed near impossible to me. Could be more fun with a bit of polish, for sure. Keep at it!

Muu? says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:42am

Cool idea, but the controls were an huge turn off.

I found a bug at level 12: If the players stands still under the second green platform, it will be pushed off the screen.

May 3, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Not massively original, but a fun and challenging platformer with some nice use of the platform-switching mechanics. Once you iron out those bugs, this'll be a good little game.

One nitpick I have is that the sound effects were quite a bit louder than a music. Which is a shame, because I liked the music a lot.

GameNacho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Neat game, I like all the different game mechanics!

lpcustom says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I like the color switch concept. It makes for an interesting platformer.

SneakySalmon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I found this really fun, if not a bit challenging due to the slippery movement but managed to get through all of the levels. Nice job :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]