Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RUST - dmcfarline - Jam Entry

RUST: a Wolfenstein 3D style FPS

The look of the environments and objects were designed to use few colours to keep with the theme, each level having a different primary colour

Solo project

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x9UtayAZR4&feature=youtu.be

View dmcfarline's journal. | View all entries by dmcfarline

Ratings

#5Overall(Jam)4.33
#8Fun(Jam)4.07
#89Graphics(Jam)3.93
#93Audio(Jam)3.53
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Very nice. I'm absolutely terrible at the old style FPSes, though, so I didn't even make it past level 2. What I saw up to that point was nicely executed and atmospheric given the time constraints and visuals, so props to you for that. Nice use of audio, too.

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44am

I love this game ! And I love oldschool FPS ! Thank you for this !

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39am

This is awesome, I love that it's an old style FPS. I think I missed a door somewhere but I got all turned out and couldn't find it again (right before the long corridor that takes you to the end.) Part of me wonders if something secret was in there, like a potato, but, chances are it was just ammo. That's how I'm going to sleep tonight. It was just ammo.

Great job on the game!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

This needs more love! Had a blast playing this, love the 2.5d fps aesthetic and gameplay

JigxorAndy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:28am

Awesome game! I love FPS and this was really fun, and very polished. Nice work guys!

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:25am

Awkward moment when you're playing a Doom clone without having played Doom.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I really liked that! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:58am

Very sweet game, so clean and retro! Love the running commentary

Beldarak says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:40am

Splendid ! The mood was perfect (I must say I was a little scared :D) and it was really a blast to play. I hope you'll continue to work on this after the LD, the world needs more old-school FPS ;)

Orni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:59am

intense and great game!
I'd LOVE to know how you made the music - since it's simply amazing.

well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]