April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

core9000

by dot_sr - Jam Entry

core9000 was visually inspired by Stanley Kubrick's 2001 - Space Odyssey. The minimalistic design of the movie was carried over to the game by just using circles and two colors for the game elements.

In the game, two players have to defend their cores by turning their shields into the right direction. Thereby they not only have to watch enemy attacks, but also their own projectiles.

The game is played with Keyboard only:
Red Player - WASD
Blue Player - Arrow Keys

Every player got 3 hit points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Graphics(Jam)4.18
#64Overall(Jam)3.71
#70Innovation(Jam)3.64
#73Theme(Jam)3.89
#101Audio(Jam)3.50
#144Fun(Jam)3.25
#184Mood(Jam)3.23
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Like it - quite polished and an interesting concept.

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

It's kinda hard to keep an eye on all the shields at the same time - that means both players are left with only one (usually the largest) shield in a very short time. Anyway, nice concept.

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

Hard game but cool idea!

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

Nice concept, cool presentation. Would be great with if there was some basic AI opponent.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

Well done!
Like mechanic, and clever idea =)
Unfortunately there is no single mode...

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06am

It looks pretty good. I like the graphics and the sounds. It's hard to play since I'm alone in the house ;_;

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Nice! I didn't have any human opponent close to me but I got the idea. The simple fact of having to protect myself from my own projectiles did the fun

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Yep that is cool. nice sounds... super minimalistic 2 player game... i had to play it aigainst myself, and I lost the battle :) Looks great, feels like a near finished and polished product. Nice...

May 1, 2013 @ 5:02am

Very polished game with a great minimal visual style. I especially like the effect when a player is hit. It was interesting reading through your brainstorming notes as well and seeing your thought process for this game. Nice job!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

yetanother says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Realy cool concept

juaxix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:42am

Wow, looks like my entry :)
Love the design thought!

Jorjon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:06am

Wow, graphics and audio... And fun game mechanic... Well done!!

May 7, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Interesting concept and art. Wish controls would've been a bit more intuitive. Maybe selecting a shield with mouse?

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:49am

Nice graphics, nice effects but the "friendly" fire is disturbing. Why you re not protected to your shoot?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]