April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PEW PEW Orbit Defender

by OniiRam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hope you enjoy my game :)
I wanted to do something cooperative, so I decided to make a game where two people have to stick side by side to reach the end of the game.
I mean side by side, literally. When you see the controls you will understand.
On the second day I wanted to make it single player too, but in my opinion two players is way more fun!

The goal of the game is to survive until the end and destroy all the enemies that spawn.

*Warning: I don't know why but the audio seems to work only on Google Chrome
Update: I uploaded it on Dropbox instead of Google Drive, now the audio should work on Firefox and IE too. Please leave a comment if you still hear nothing*

PEW PEW PEW PEW

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#593Audio2.65
#637Fun2.90
#680Theme3.41
#863Humor1.83
#872Graphics2.63
#972Mood2.44
#975Overall2.77
#1147Innovation2.21

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

its a bit odd how each hand contorls the firing of the other.

optimality says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Not bad. Some suggestions:
1) It wasn't immediately obvious that the enemies were taking damage when shot.
2) No progress indicator telling me how much farther I had to go to finish it.
3) No actual difference between yellow and green enemies.
4) Took too long for new enemy types to show up.
5) Having to spam spacebar was annoying - an autofire option would have been nice.

I liked the audio work quite a bit, and you did a good job of sticking to the theme.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I made the mistake of playing 2 player alone hmmm. 5 stars hahaha!

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I love that each player has fire control for the other player's cannon! Cool idea!

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

played only single player, really cool. highscore 253

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice one!
But the blue enemy is easier to get than the purple one. :)

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very simple and very fun. Good game!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nice game! The audio didn't seem to be working in firefox (windows 7). But don't worry, we inserted our own "pew pew!"

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Pretty good. Sound and graphics gave a great retro vibe. I made it past the second boss!

zinfandel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

Loved it! Fun and fits the theme.
I think difficulty can increase at a faster rate, because at some point it feels repetitive.

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27am

two player mode was a very nice idea to make the game really more interesting, nice :D

danblack says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Pretty good shooter with a good variety of enemies. I found the limited range of fire a bit annoying and more visual feedback would have been good. Especially something showing that the enemy ships were taking damage.

May 5, 2013 @ 1:00am

Nice!

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Definitely need some kind of feedback about the progress.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]