April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Digital H

by wine - Jam Entry

This is some kind of puzzle game. Hope, you like it.
To solve this game try to use your mouse with different ways
(but no pixel-hunting, indeed, only left and right mouse buttons).

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
SOLUTION: slow down time to go into the darkness and click on the heart
Click by click you increase the heartbeat and see "Come Back"
Drag the mouse to the heart in white world - you will see
And then - stop until the end
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

wine

* backspace for a little help
* small tip in the comments

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#79Audio(Jam)3.62
#87Mood(Jam)3.59
#102Theme(Jam)3.76
#122Innovation(Jam)3.43
#134Graphics(Jam)3.73
#285Overall(Jam)3.10
#315Humor(Jam)1.97
#487Fun(Jam)2.24

Comments

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Good but too short =(
And some strange graphical glitches appears... Maybe bug, or not, I dont know.

wine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

Thanks!
Just simulation of digital noise, nothing else

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08am

Fantastic audio and graphics really good job, just got confused on what to do.

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

Incredibly good looking, I wonder how you achieved this effect.

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06am

Sorry, but I have no idea what to do. It is a bit harsh to just leave the player there without any hints or instructions. Perhaps give the player some hint to what to do after a minute or two?

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

Incredibly beautiful, although I had no idea what I was supposed to be doing haha. I played it for a good while though, just because the atmosphere was so nice.

wine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

thanks for your views!
I understand non-obviousness of first steps

So * You have only two buttons that you can hold or click. And only one object that can be pressed. If zero has changed - u on a right way )

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

What a cool game! Well done ;)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10am

A little bit to short but amazing graphics, i want to see more!

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Like that glitchy effects on cube! Clicky-clicky :)

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Excellent! Enjoyed it a lot. I can't describe my emotions in words...

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

A weird, but interesting experience. Nice graphical effects and very emotional sounds. I'm unsure if I did get what you wanted to express, though.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I like the graphical style. Gameplay was confusing though.

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

One of my favourite LD26 games, so... mysterious. And I love the glitchy effects :D

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I have no idea what just happened, but it was artsy and I love it!

Corofides says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10pm

That was interesting.. not wholly sure what I was doing but.. certainly interesting and worth 5 minutes.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I had no idea what I was doing (I knew to use both left and right mouse buttons) but either way it was VEEERY good!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22pm

It was hard to figure out how to get to the end, but I did eventually. I enjoyed how you could click during the credits to stop it.

Really interesting game. Was it a metaphor for someone dying and trying to be resuscitated? That's how I took it, like I was killing them.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Great sound and graphics glitch effects, very strange exploration. Good job (it's will be better for me with lmore game but, it's yet great)

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Had no idea what was happening but enjoyed looking at it.

wine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I am glad to hear the opinions of all of you! And I feel like in one day has to continue the story ) Yes. Where will be more Game and new experience

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:56am

Baffling but memorable. I just wish there was more to it than rapidly clicking - a concept this surreal should really have more to it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:11am

Absolutely love it! Thanks for the "no pixel hunting" and letting us explore this game!

kannas says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I really enjoyed this one. i found a graphical experience that i thought hard to find on games made in 2-3 days. I was captivated by the sounds and music. Though a side effect is probably the fact that the core game is a bit too short. Anyway i really like your work :D

May 1, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Not sure what happened, but I'm in awe of the graphics, awesome stuff!

TriBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Looked and sounded great, but provided me with 0 feedback as to if I was getting anywhere. I don't want to be hand held, but I feel it needed to give me a little more reinforcement when I was getting somewhere.

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:30am

Loved the effects, but was very hard to get somewhere with the game. Just a note: the game gets the wrong screen geometry. Judging by the screens above, it was don on a 4:3 screen, but it looks a bit strange on a wide (16:9) screen. Nice to have it working for Linux as well!

S0larCode says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:31am

What did I just do?

Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:41am

Very cool looking!

Jiggawatt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Very short, which is a shame. Some nice audiovisual effects and unique interactions.

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:05am

woee this is very cool, unique and stylish! nice job :)

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:39am

Very atmospheric sound effects. I enjoyed it greatly.

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:20am

I'm not really sure what the meaning is, but I liked the mysterious ambience. I wonder if there's an ending..

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very interesting mood and gameplay. Congratz!

Xgor says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Well it does look nice, but I had to look to the instructions to understand what to do and that kinda kills the fun and when I do follow it it dosn't make much sense (to me at least)

lotusgame says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:31pm

So weird ^^ Don't sure i really understood what to do and what happened. But the graphical and audio work is quite good. Congrats :)

May 9, 2013 @ 3:43am

Minimal graphics are done quite well but I can't say I really enjoyed this one. Maybe a little too tedious for me. :(

May 10, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Cool stuff, truly minimal, but very intense mood... Good!

stevejohnson says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Welp, that was pretty weird. (In a good way.) Most mysterious thing I've seen all day.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Sort of like polygonal heart surgery. But the objective is to stop the heart?

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Nice but short.

Gungnir says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:48am

Amazing graphics.

dick_claus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:17am

Very abstract and emotionally full. I would be cool to read a story this way, solving puzzles. Sounds are great. Fits the theme really good.

wine says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:06am

Thanks for all yours positive impressions and criticism! it means alot to me
And here some answers

Story - for short in two words. The humblest man on earth in the street trying to find a contact with someone. But his heart is too weak and when it is closer to the people, in the eyes become cloudy and time is slow down. And the heart, too

Duration - I'm too much time lost in creating the right mood. I wanted to do more interaction and feedback to the player before he would have to stop the heart. So I am very pleased to hear about the graphics sounds and mood. And I understand complete validity of the criticism towards the gameplay and lack of clarity

YsenGrimm says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Really great style, a bit hard to figure out how the game works though :D

May 11, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Good idea, I really like the sound design! =) But it's really too short...

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Seeing the scattered shards around the hexagon interested me. If you continue to develop this: after that I was not sure how to proceed or what the user controls were.

Sebastian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Creative, visually intriguing and excellent sound design. Only downfall is its length because I wanted to play a lot more!

Hadyn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:16am

Haha, it does seem like we've given each other a taste of our own confusing medicine. Nice job in any case, you've got an awesome mood and great style!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]