April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Terrible Magical Artist

by Colorvade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Terrible Magical Artist is an Artist-Simulator where you can attempt to construct a beautiful scene out of the randomly chosen assets at your disposal. Many die trying, only the truly talented ever make anything decent.

A commentary on modern art.


(not really)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#125Humor3.24
#160Graphics3.76
#440Mood3.04
#458Theme3.63
#484Innovation3.21
#512Audio2.77
#512Fun3.03
#644Overall3.09

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

This is a nice little toy. :D I enjoyed it enough to screenshot my masterpiece(?). http://www.flickr.com/photos/crowbeak/8690626023/in/photostream

That said, having the mouse anchored on the center of the images made it difficult to place smaller items precisely. And with 20 objects, I felt like it could easily get a little cluttered. Took me a while to realize there was a trash can, which is okay I think since it's easy to restart. I don't feel like I would know that minimalism was the theme just from playing this, though.

StuStutheBloo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

Solid! I turned the moon into a face.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very pretty game! Also I am a truly a terrible magical artist, game is right! :P

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

Be advised that "Web" in this case means the Flash plugin.

Other than that, it's pretty cool. The sound track is relaxing, and I enjoyed making a scene. Doesn't quite fit minimalism, as you're encouraged to keep putting things on the canvas.

I would play a version with animations or something more involved.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

I wouldn't have gotten minimalism from it just from playing it. Maybe I could say that a terrible artist just picks random crap and makes art from it?
You can make some goofy stuff with the pieces though, which is kind of entertaining.

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

Fun little game, wish I could have more than 20 pieces though :(

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

This is my "masterpiece" http://goo.gl/ZbEJd xD. I really didn't have a clue about what I was doing but it was fun.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Thanks to everyone for taking the time play, rate, and share!

I intended for the minimalism to come from a mechanical side with the player having limited resources on their palette, but I can't dispute your opinion if things feel overly complex.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

In my opinion... as a game I don't get this... It might be some kind of statement about art, but I wouldn't call it "game".

What you have there is a toy, and a toy can be easily turned into a game: just add some goals. For instance: different object combinations or ways to arrange objects unlock achievements (like a recipe check list).

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

If it needs explicit goals to be a game, leave it as a toy. It's brilliant as it is.

A candle was lit in memory of the fossilised beast, curled around a rock. Nearby a leaf settled by an upturned pumpkin.

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

not really a game but very funny and fits quite good the theme

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

This is so much fun to play around with.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Tozy, I appreciate your opinion and people can see this as whatever they like, but I think to 'gamify' a subjective experience would do little more than arbitrarily hook the player into wasting more time. If the player's getting bored, I don't want them to try and addict them, I want them to stop playing.

Thanks again to everyone for playing.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Also I hate not being able to edit all these typos I'm making.

bigbazwa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I had fun making a terrible work of art. :)

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Found this on the Stencyl forums. Loved it! My art is so terrible and magical.

brxtr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Interesting idea. It would have been cool if some objects interacted with each other, or automatically moved somehow (e.g. the cog could rotate), but I suppose that wouldn't have been as minimalistic.

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

kool gam

Tozy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02am

Colorvade, that's ok too. A toy is not a bad thing.
I hadn't thought that (quoting you :P) "...the goal of the game is just to make something not terrible, as opposed to something beautiful, hah."
Interesting approach ^^

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Loved it! Super simple concept, yet very well done, I liked playing around with it! Good job!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:49pm

COOL - that was very different from the other games. i enjoyed playing this

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11am

The execution for this was solid. had a nice vibe. The objects interact would be cool as brxtr posted

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:23pm

A canvas snapshot saved as a png would've been a cool addition so you could forever keep your masterpieces with a button push haha. The sea sounds were soothing too.

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:26am

A clever little toy (hello, fellow Stencyl user!), well worth expanding into an actual game. I'd love to see objects react to one another, or to other stimuli - like Grow or Little Inferno.

ZYXer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:30am

Awesome game. It's nice to be creative for once in a LD game :D

lotusgame says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Cute toy :) I liked to have to choose in a little list of objects rather than the complete list, that's give you a reason to be so terrible :p

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]