April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Through the Woods

by CosmicCatStudio - Jam Entry

Following the theme of minimalism, if you die before you reach grandmother's house, you will be sent to a simpler level; fewer wolves and a shorter distance to travel, but also fewer lives.

I worked on this solo. The game was made in Construct 2, sound effects (all two of them) made with SFXR, and all art was drawn either within Construct 2 or in Photoshop. Sadly, I ran out of time for music. This was my first time using Construct 2 to make a game, as such it's pretty short and simple (but it works!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Graphics(Jam)3.76
#174Mood(Jam)3.27
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#304Theme(Jam)3.18
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#432Innovation(Jam)2.41
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26am

I really like this. The graphics work well with the sounds, and the mechanics are good too. Good work!

berareu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

Visually, it's very good, the gameplay is nice too in its simplicity (or minimalism!). I like it!

mtrc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:36am

Lovely! Very simple, delightful graphics.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:56am

Nice animation.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Omg, so beautiful your game. I like de palette and the animations. Congrats. Please play and rate my game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Good game! The gameplay works well and the art is nice!

barkergames says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:28pm

When I got to the house nothing happened! I walked off the screen on the right and then disappeared. I could move left and right but couldn't see myself, or get hit by wolves.

berkano says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:49pm

The graphics are beautiful, and excellent concept, I love the way it gets easier until you can eventually win :-) Would have loved to hear some music and deeper SFX, shame you ran out of time - nice work though!

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:56am

Love the visual style

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:51am

good job -- little hard to jump over wolves -- good use of theme

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]