April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Proxy

by Broxxar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Become the agent of change in this puzzle platformer.

Controls:

Move left - A
Move Right - D
Jump - Space
Reset Stage - R

Absorb/Move - Left Mouse

There are 14 levels total, so the game is pretty short. My record time is about 2:45, but that's already knowing all puzzle solutions and with optimized movement tech I picked up during 100 or so play tests.

There was A LOT more I wanted to do with this game, and I hopefully I have time to keep working on it in the future. As it stands, it's a simple, short and at least in my opinion, fun platformer.



There is a small, well hidden, reference to potato in the game (seriously, if you find it, tell me in the comments).


Update 1:

Typo - corrected spelling errors in the ending dialogue
Typo - corrected the ninth stage to "flight" instead of "jump" to match the ending dialogue

Update 2:

Win condition criteria - added two lines of code to allow people to reset a stage (stage 10, "acrobatic", seemed to be commonly preventing people from bating the game)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#116Audio3.55
#126Mood3.56
#127Overall3.71
#149Fun3.53
#156Innovation3.68
#255Graphics3.53
#483Theme3.61
#640Humor2.11

Comments

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

Nice mood!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

I struggled to find the reset button for levels I couldn't beat...but overall it was interesting!

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

Nice concept and well executed.
I liked the character animations.
The way the blocks moved on their sometimes was a bit annoying. So was the way the jump height is reduced if there is a block in front of you.

Soundboy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

Really cool stuff, great variety of puzzles stemming from a simple mechanic

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

Fun and interesting mechanic! I kept wishing the blocks would stop and stay where I put them. I got stuck in the abyss.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

Love the concept. I see a lot of potential in the level design, but it could stand to be a little more mistake-friendly, or at least add a reset button. I got stuck on the see saw level.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

Really liked this one. One of the standouts for me so far.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Oh this one is great! The only problem is that I was physically stuck on the level with the big green block that has to catapult you up using the ramp. How do you guys come up with such great game ideas?

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

@lpcustom

First of all thanks, glad you like it! If it's within the rules, I'll add simple script to restart a level with 'R' or something.

As for ideation, I kinda just had a rough idea and let it evolve as I coded the base mechanic.

This was my concept drawing from just after 40 minutes into the compo: http://i.imgur.com/1ZZ5MmE.jpg

jijaweb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Like the mood and music. Cool game.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

I like this one. I got stuck in the "acrobatic" or "artistic" level (don't recall the exact name). I fell off the seesaw on the right side and couldn't turn it into my direction so I could climb on it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22am

Got stuck on the "acrobatic" level. Nothing I could do would make the block hit the see saw hard enough to send me to the top? Overall a nice prototype and interesting mechanic. Could see making a great puzzle game out of this.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very neat mechanic. I ended up giving up on the "puzzle" level, I got jammed into a wall and fell back to the start, too lazy to try again :)

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very cool mechanics and art style.


Minor Critique:
Wish the fade outs were faster/optional.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Amazing game, though it takes a while to pick up on the gimmicks. I think you can skip the basic platforming in the beginning and go for the gimmick right away.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Pretty decent base for a puzzle platformer! I want to give a shoutout to the background animation, that owns.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

original!

Oliver Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

It's a nice original concept. I also liked the animations and graphics. It was fun to play.

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Interesting concept

fysx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Fantastic game! One of the best I have played so far. Great idea, great realization and wow! So many levels!

Impressive!

May 3, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Decent... I found the moving of the blocks to be a little unsatisfying, particularly on the first teeter totter level. Or is there only one? I don't know, I couldn't pass it.

Broxxar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:33pm

@bastiandantilus, could you elaborate? I've tested that puzzle a bit, and I believe it can be done not only by slamming the block down onto the left side of the teeter totter, but also simply dropping it from its max height.

Keep in mind the the mechanics of your jump allow for slower falling and higher jumps while the space bar is held. So the jump should be more manageable if you use a combination of downwards force of the block and a well timed jump.

PsenFilip says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Music is good and I like the character animations as well.
Core gameplay is pretty straightforward, yet you managed to come up with an overall interesting level design.
Nice puzzles.
Controls are pretty decent.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:57pm

That was pretty cool. My only gripe is how the boxes felt very "Slidey" after you stopped moving them.

May 9, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Very nice art style. The jump animations felt a little sluggish, though. Interesting puzzle mechanics. Neat game.

Sebastian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Cool mechanic and graphical style, I managed to get up to the Abyss level before I became a bit frustrated lol. In one instance I was able to accelerate myself through the boxes above me using one of the vertical moving platforms.
Definitely needs some general polish, but overall it was a good experience.

Sylvain says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I love the background visual effect.

Evil Cult says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:17am

Great game! I also stopped at the abyss level as I found that a bit too much. I really loved the simple but fun and unique mechanics and the variety of stuff you could do with it. Very intuitive.

zkenshin says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Really fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]