April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Running With Swords

by eteeski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made by ETeeski - youtube.com/ETeeskiTutorials

This game is really hard. My personal high score is 505.

Ninja infinite runner with swords. Try to run as far as you can. The minimalism of this game is that you control the game with only the mouse.
I livestreamed myself making the entire game. Twitch.tv/eteeski

My real name - Eric Tereshinski

Control Notes - Attack is semi-auto. Meaning click click click is three attacks, ect.. The jump + direction affects how high or far you jump. The rest of the controls are explained in game.

The gameplay is still a bit messy and there are a lot of WTF deaths, but overall, I'm happy with how it turned out in 48 hours (used 23 hours, rest of time was spent sleeping and eating).

Tools used:
Unity3D Free/Basic
Photoshop elements
Audacity
bfxr.net

Explanation Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qx3NAlpNB3k

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#109Fun3.61
#185Innovation3.63
#267Overall3.47
#302Humor2.66
#391Graphics3.27
#531Mood2.91
#624Audio2.59
#1006Theme3.04

Comments

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18am

I like it, though its really difficult. I watched you make the game for the last 6 hours or so while I was working on my game. Did you consider making the jump button just right mouse instead of right mouse and up? I feel like that would make it a lot easier.

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

I love the spinning arms mechanic!

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

I felt so BA playing this game, but the mechanics are a little janky.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

Awesome! This was actually a lot of fun. After figuring out the controls, I found them surprisingly intuitive. It is challenging but I could honestly fins myself playing this to pass the time. Nice work!

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

This is a lot of fun! Love being able to just swing his arms around in slow-mo jumps. Good work :)

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

Really awesome mechanic! I've never seen controls like this. Jumping is a little difficult though, because you either jump way too far or not far enough.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

Weirdest thing is that I couldn't get the Linux binary to work correctly. It used a window that was about twice my desktop (FullHD) and I couldn't see the game. However, the Windows version worked just fine under Wine.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Nice work. The ninja's running feet animation is hynoptic... Slow-mo was great, slicing up a ninja star mid-air made me feel better about losing so much.

Are the levels procedurally generated? Too many walls!

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Man, this turned out a lot harder than I thought it would! But the animation came out amazing! All animations should be math based! Its the future!

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

Watched this on stream and I have to agree with the above, the math based animations were brilliant. Well done.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42am

This is REALLLLLLLLLLY fun and innovative. I mean, it's a "runner", sure... but I really feel like I'm in some kind of action film. The slo mo effects with sound and the ability to rotate in midair are my favorite effects. It's a little tough, sure... but that's what kept me coming back for more! I say polish this sucker up and keep going. Keep a minimalist art style... it works... but maybe stylize it a bit. You have something really awesome, here. CONGRATS!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34am

5/5 for the jumping alone.

JASXx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

the best one game.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

Took me a few tries to get a good grasp of the controls. The game gets better and betters every time I play it ! Nice work !

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

this game is cruel. I was totally looking forward to slicing up some bad boys after all the instruction on sword fighting and then all I get are dull throwing stars -_- :) Nice work tough and could turn out really interesting with some polish.

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Spinning the arms is totally fun! But be warned, this game is hard.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Love this game, i felt like a ninja hehe, and love the Stella thing :D

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

A love ninja games and this was something that really gave you the ability to be like one. Really loved the mechanics, could use some music though and it was a bit difficult. Nice overall good job.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:06am

This is the kind of running game I enjoy playing, it has that certain finesse that feels more satisfying than just simple jump. Definitely challenging! With the right art and animation this would be great!

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

i like the players feet animation , but thought the enviroment and obsticles could heve been slightly more detailed to add a bit more character. Effects are really cool though. fun but realy hard.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I liked it, but the controls could use some more work. Jumping and aiming attacks is too wonky.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30am

This game has HIGH potential to be absolutely fun. Like competition winning fun. The controls are SO UNGODLY DIFFICULT that I don't even want to bother learning them.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:34am

If this game just had a little bit more polish it would be perfect! The concept is great!

Super Hamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:25am

This game is really nice and the controls are very interesting. Good job! :D

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Current control scheme is good. The only thing I have trouble with is measuring the jump distance.
The famous 'jump to the spike every now and then' kind of thing!

Randomness gets pretty brutal often times.

Doing the spinning thing over and over is quite funny
My best score was merely 183. Cool twist on the genre.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I like the graphics, sound effects and the slow motion very much. Only the controls are a little complicated and take some time to get used to.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Fun as hell... love the slo-mo. I totally sucked at it, but the random levels were sweeeet.

lotusgame says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:23am

Fun, innovative, nice graphics.. but so hard.. and a little bit repetitive. Movements are really impressive. Very good work :)

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:45am

Wow, this game is super harsh. I like it! It reminds me of the old NES-era games where you learned or you died (kind of like an 8-bit Game of Thrones ;)).

I got into it a few tries in, when the controls started making sense. Didn't make it easier though! Overall: liked it. Maybe ramp up the difficulty slower, a little bit? The controls were okay, but would probably work really well on a tablet, with touch-controls.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:41am

i like it but is too difficult -- great job

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I can't play the game. It opens a gigantic window which is more than my 2 monitors. And there's no way to scale it down.

yellowlemming says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:48pm

this plays really well and is rather fun to play, it can be really difficult to judge the jumps however

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Wuw, really strange jump and control, but when you understand it's fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]