April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by Andres B. Gonzalez - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run and Jump retro game with random rules that changes the gameplay.

Platforms: Windows, Web Player

Motor: Unity3D
Graphics: Gimp
Sound: Bfxr
Music: Milkytracker
Font: http://opengameart.org/content/boxy-bold-font-split

Downloads and Links




Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I was a little dubious at first (given that it's so like The Impossible Game), but got into the idea when I realised it was in some way procedural. Only problem with that is it's really hard to get good at it because you don't get to repeat levels etc.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

There's only one issue with this game - on the Unity web player, it doesn't show anything other than the start screen, or the retry screen when I inevitably die. This may just be with my computer, but the other Unity web entries that I've used have run fine, so it's more likely an issue with this.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Cool graphics and thought it was going to be my cup of tea, but I just kept dying. Couldn't make jumps at all. Not sure if I just suck or what, lol.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I agree that mixing procedural generation with a repetition skill is counterproductive. Without being able to practice, it is just too hard for me.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Well that is seriously hard to play! Nice base for a game if you refine it perhaps a bit further. :)

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I like the variety of the levels, the graphics are simple but effective, and the controls are responsive. This game is hard, though! I would suggest adding multiple difficulties and/or making the speed gradually ramp up as you make progress. Good job!

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

This was fun, especially in fullscreen - I kept playing just to see him die in different ways haha. As others have already said - the procedural could be used for an initial seed, but it'd be nice to have the save layout you started from, until you chose to reset the level perhaps. I got far enough for the gravity thing , but am not twitchy enough to get any further. :D

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

My god this is hard. Why not offset the camera along the X? You never need to see what's to the left of you, and it takes up 50% of the screen!

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Really tricky but the concept is great. Well done :)

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I think this would be a lot better if the camera were more ahead of the character so you could anticipate what's ahead better. It also kinda takes too long to restart. Not bad though.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

I thought it was hard until "New rules: speed up!", then I realized what hard was. I like the variety of rules, only got gravity switch once which was cool, but got the boring color swap a few times. Fog and Speed up make a hard game too hard. Once got a bad random that started me 3 squares away from a 2 unit high wall.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Cool idea, I like it!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Fun, but damned difficult due to the random levels... Maybe if there was enough time to think somehow, perhaps twice the width visible, that might give enough time. Good job on the procedural generation

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Liked the game very much. its hard in the start , but you get used to it . love the random level-ups :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Seem to be having an issue on the web version where it sometimes generates walls too high to jump over?

When I don't get levels that start like that, it's a lot of fun.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Simple but fun game!

domrein says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

The game is simple and straight forward. I liked the pacing as well. Seems to generate a lot of impossible levels though.

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:08am

I think it would have helped a bit to have the camera off-center, leading forward. Sometimes it feels like I'm not given enough time to react. Quite ok though as I get more used to it.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]