Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

end

by Aevek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are standard WASD

Minimalistic visual, sound, and gameplay. 3D first person puzzle game.

My first Ludum Dare game, also my first game ever actually publicly released. So, that's good.

I recommend that you download it, as the visuals look far better that way. If you play full screen, you'll have to alt-f4 to quit, as I neglected to add a quit function.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#38Theme4.27
#238Overall3.51
#261Mood3.25
#300Fun3.27
#348Graphics3.34
#515Innovation3.17
#529Humor2.25
#622Audio2.60

Comments

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

This game is exactly what the theme is about. Wow, nice work!

Alic Szecsei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

It's not often a puzzle game really catches my interest, but this one kept me going for some time. The signs were always amusing and provided a fun spin on every game element.

NightDreamer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

It's really a nice puzzle game! :)
Like it.

But there is a time, where the Dev Console opens.
Errorlog is:
"NullReferenceException: Object Reference not set to an instance of an object
> slidingdoor.Update() (at C:/Users/Jake/Documents/LD26/Assets/Code/slidingdoor.cs:15)"

Hope that will help. :)

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Some very cool ideas here, but I felt like it was a little too slow at times (either the player could move faster, or distances could have been made shorter) - and the lack of music or ambient effects made the world feel a little too empty for me. The puzzles were cool, though, and the signs were a nice touch =]

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

48 hours? Crazy.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Best thing about the game ? The signs. Really cool, they added a lot to the experience. And congrats on your first public game :]

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Cool. The dictionary thing is very smart. A bad thing: too much inertia.

ming_tea says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I thought this was fun and made great use of the theme.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Brilliant game, I loved it.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice puzzle game ;)

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Interesting theme you have there.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Great level Design! One of best overral so far! ;)
First public release, huh? Keep up the good work!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Ah, great idea to use the dictionary to help the player! ;)

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

this was pretty cool. good idea. this was well put together.

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I didn't actually finish it as I felt a little motion-sick, but what I experienced up until that point was pleasing. It did feel like being in a curious minimalist art exhibit... with platforming. :)

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04am

awesome. really loved the sliding doors, and other trippy effects. without any background you get an interesting sense of disorientation when everything's moving

Jarrett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

Nice work! :) It truly exemplifies the theme.

Really like it, especially the colorful, musical buttons. Platforming was a bit frustrating at times :P and a simple credits screen would've been a nice alternative to the current, *ahem*, end. Was my first LD as well, look forward to seeing you at the next one :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05am

Like the texts. Its funny and minimalistic =)

porglezomp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

Really nice! Your game is really similar to ours, you should look at it, we can probably learn things from each other. Our game could have used something like the signs.

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=21051

porglezomp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25am

Although you should have disabled mipmapping on the signs, that's my one criticism.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48am

I liked the graphics and sounds that came from the switches. The player's inertia was a bit too much and the jerky motion when riding moving platforms was a bit irritating.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:34am

you nailed the theme! incredible game -- reminded me a lot of portal!

jolle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

Bit too high mouse sensitivity and physics that made the controls seem sluggish makes this hard to play for the wrong reasons. Otherwise pretty nifty.

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Definitely the most complete game I've played as part of the competition. The game's mechanics have been done before, but you executed them well and they worked with the theme.

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:05am

I quite liked the level design but it think it needs some background music to help with the mood.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Played the web version on Chrome. Liked the text descriptions instead of models ... Straightforward puzzles, but excellent overall impression. Camera needs a bit of work, hard to tell where your feet are, or at least its not intuitive... Actually, playing a bit more I think the camera is fine... maybe need a shadow or something ?

May 3, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Very nice. The controls felt a bit weird and sadly I wasn't able to solve the puzzle (how about a hint? Neither brute force button-pushing nor making all buttons white nor making all buttons colored nor anything else I tried succeeded, I guess I'm just too stupid and/or tired to see the solution..?), but that being said, everything worked really well. It actually felt like a complete game and was quite immersive.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:21am

The core aesthetic almost robbed the surprises a little, but overall great job.

SamoojaMies says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:04am

Nailed the theme

Tifu says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Cool stuff. Nice use of theme. A little slow waiting for moving blocks in a few stages that seemed to be taking ages, but eh, minor complaint. Way to go!

rzfmzn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Loved it, from theme to LD, great work! =OD

0beah says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Really nice use of theme. Found the platforming a bit clunky.... or that could just be me sucking.

Drabiter says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:03pm

On linux Nadia the mouse look is very sensitive and no sound. I used the 64bit executable. Nice game btw!

dray says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Very cool game, great aethetic and gameplay. i didn't finish, i stop at the nexus level. maybe the game is a bit slow.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Nailed the theme man. Keep it up!

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:27am

Wow! Nicely done. Felt like a poor-man's Anti-Chamber with the look and signs. (That's a compliment) :)

Bernhard says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:15am

Very simple and relaxing. Involved a bit too much waiting for platforms :-)

May 9, 2013 @ 8:07am

Nice idea! Like the musical steps. Also good use of unity-resources.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:41am

Very well designed, loved the theme interpretation!

Mago says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:17am

simply AMAZING. great atmosphere similar to games like portal also great levels. The best usage of theme I saw so far!

jonnopon3000 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:51pm

A surprisingly well designed little plaformer - good work!

Zccc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:08pm

I don't know what is happening, the controls do nothing... I just move very fast in the direction I'm looking... how am I supposed to climb the stairs that way??

May 11, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Cool game, let's all praise UNITY for being such a cool platform for gamemaking... I used it too, but I think your result is much more enjoyable ! :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=20047

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:45pm

At first I thought it`s too simple, but then I found a very interesting puzzle game. The concept seems very minimalistic yet original, so you should expand it.
"Space to shoot", you say? Jump maybe?

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I Life the panel idea. But it was better on start when panels replace what they describe ( obstacle, objective etc ) After that they are just used to describe situation like in classic videogame

GranaDa says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Nice job! A bit of work and this could be a full featured game!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:41pm

The definitions on the walls lured me. The blocks that implemented those definitions made me feel alert and content. If you continue to develop this, I gave up hope when jumping from the last pillar in the first outside level.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Nice puzzle and good atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]