April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

mal

by shama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ludum dare. Hope you enjoy!

Find your way through the mazes. Click to place markers. Beware the red.

Made with http://voxeljs.com. Full source code here: https://github.com/shama/ludum-dare-26

Hint: avoid looking at the red; the more you look the more aggressive it will get.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#291Mood3.21
#388Graphics3.28
#608Innovation3.06
#752Theme3.34
#826Fun2.69
#835Overall2.91
#961Humor1.67
#1054Audio1.44

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Pretty fun game. It whas a bit confusing at first as I thought the holes in the ground were graphical glitches and that the screen. The fact that you can "sense" were the red faces are by the distortion of the screen is quite cool. One improvement would to maybe add a (black) border to the edge of the holes so they are more obvious.

shama says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:58pm

That is a good idea. I can see now how the holes are not very obvious. Thanks!

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Overall very good - I love the effect when you are near the red guy. The only suggestions/comments that I have are that

1)You can jump over walls on the first level (not a huge deal)
2)The Black/White can be quite disorienting if you lose track of which way is up.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:43am

quite interesting!

maxogden says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

I was genuinely freaked out the first time I got eaten by the red guy

hughsk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30am

The post-processing effects work a treat, haha it freaked me out too.

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Oh great.. no sleep for me tonight. Found it hard to navigate but that adds to the feeling. Best bad guy in LD so far.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

The holes need to be more apparent. The distortion effect was really cool. Also nice to see pure JS implementations =)

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Nice game, the distortion fx is great and surprising. Holes are not obvious, and you'r lost very fast but it add to the mood. Also i like the fullscreen without mouse lock that enable a real fps experience!

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Awesome effects and atmosphere.

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Awesome concept, but the monster was too sudden and I knew there was no way I could escape from it with all this distortion and no depth cues, so...Monster! the end.

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:51pm

That was trippy man. Like others, I had a very hard time finding the holes. Also, if I was up against a wall, I could see though it. Nice scary

larb says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Cool effect. Some creepy noise with the visual effect would go well.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Very cool effects. I hope you can use that effect and this style in a fully developed game!

shama says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:31am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! Much appreciated!

May 5, 2013 @ 10:48am

Sound would've perfected this I reckon.

KEFIR says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Pretty nice start. This red thing was even a little creepy :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:06am

Fun and eerie, I love the de-res look when the red is near.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]