April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Press Space To Jump

by theo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Press Space To Jump. The simple idea becomes infuriatingly frustrating in this minimal one-button platformer. Enjoy, and don't forget to vote when voting's up!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#458Theme3.63
#640Humor2.11
#676Fun2.84
#906Graphics2.59
#940Overall2.81
#1180Mood2.08
#1303Innovation1.81

Comments

theo says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:39am

First person to screenshot it (screenshot expected) gets a cookie. And their name in the description.

SageChaozu says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I'm using Windows 8 and I cannot run it. I have JDK installed but it just does nothing. Are there any prerequisites?

theo says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:43pm

There aren't. That's an interesting bug. Mind trying the OSX version to see if that works? That's just the .Jar

SageChaozu says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:35pm

I just re downloaded the Windows version and it works now. Not sure what happened but I'm able to play now.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06am

Simple, but decent. One complaint is that the game over screen only last for a single frame.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:26am

Kind of tough. I think it told me I suck, but only briefly.

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

Seems to start out a little quick but a nice game!

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

I love hard games like these! This one is very awesome, the trailing cubes effect really work to get the game harder for some reason, didn't make it to the finish line but very nice to put the arrow up top to mark up the length of the level. (I used the OS X version)

Canobie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Good theme

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

I had fun playing this one and I felt compelled to try several times! Challenging, and not too frustrating.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:46am

Sure, it looks like a simple test of reflexes, but cube better believe it's challenging. The perfect game for inducing catharsis and releasing your boxed up emotions. You're a real square if you don't give this one a go.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This was a very hard game, but I still kept playing haha.

Aceria says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:39am

Very much enjoyed the game regardless of how frustrated I got with it. xD It reminds me of 'The Impossible Game' but without music. Just out of curiosity. Did you actually make it to the end yourself once?

hardycore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:48am

A good reminder that a game with a limited scope but is well tested and polished is better than the other way around. We've all seen the "player moves forward automatically and the only control is jump" kind of game before, but this one has a really well-designed level. It's just hard enough and just long enough to infuriate without being so long to be hopeless. Kudos.

kulhajs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I've destroyed all my keyboards, now what?

theo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Lol, I've beat it four times now. Happy to hear all the positive feedback!

theo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:48pm

And a fifth time just now! Such a good feeling. I think I made it just slightly too hard.

davidpeter says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:48am

Fun game, but too hard for me :( Game over screen lasts a single frame if I press space. If I don't press anything then it shows up and waits.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:41am

Effective game, frustrating as it is. Maybe it could have started out a bit slower and then worked its way faster for some more progression, but I enjoyed it anyway, though I didn't come near beating it.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:41pm

A nice remix of The Impossible Game. Was there any audio? I got no soundtrack / effects.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]