April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Arena

by Curlystraw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Probably a total of about 24 hours of pure work or so (including idea-making). I feel like I could have done more with it, but I kept going in so many directions for gameplay I had to settle on this!

The goal is pretty simple, keep your swarm of pixels alive and eliminate the other swarms by attacking them. The swarm follows your cursor around and you have to eat food dropped by large, white pixels to increase your swarm's size. The best part of the game is the menu that lets you determine how easy it is to produce new pixels, how much damage pixels do to each other, and a couple of other factors! You can try different blends of reproduction % vs damage to mix up the combat, or just give yourself an incredible challenge.

All three of the sound effects were created using sfxr.

Really enjoyed my first Ludum Dare, and I hope you enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Innovation3.29
#618Fun2.92
#653Overall3.08
#874Theme3.20
#999Audio1.79
#1053Mood2.33
#1095Graphics2.30
#1564Coolness39%

Comments

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Fun to watch and play!

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I remember playing similar game on linux, but you were starting with fully grown army.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Surprisingly engrossing, great job. I wish the color trails would fade slowly. I also found it really hard to win on the default settings since the AI has so much of an advantage.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

It seems like this game had potential, but in its current state it is a bit dull. There's not really a ton of strategy here, you just eat white stuff until you're big, then you go off and kill the blue/red stuff.

I'm also not really a fan of being locked to only 4 directions... was there a reason for this design choice?

Overall it feels unfinished.. more stuff will make it better!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I really enjoyed this. :-)

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Interesting game. Good job!

chowdy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Fun game, but I couldn't win :( I loved watching the pixels swam!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Very absorbing and fun.

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

I can definitely see this developing into something even more interesting in the future, after the concept has spent just a little more time in the oven. You have a strong basis for expansion here with the control mechanism and the swarm behavior, I think the actual implementation just needs a little more refinement to really find the fun.

whitetigle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47am

It was actually fun to play and quite challenging and I do not like these reds when they're eating me alive!! ;)

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:54am

It's really a cool idea!
Good job!

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:25pm

This is really fun :) it reminds me of AI challange, where people had to program ant armies' logic and then to compete with each other with those armies.

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice idea. Challenging game.
The trails were cool, but it would be better if they faded out after a while.

robotality says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Like the concept, and the growth idea is neat. However, it felt really easy and the AI wasn't exactly challenging. With some more work this could be a lot of fun!

Make A Game says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:35am

It's a well done game/simulation, a visual experience by itself. Good and fun concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]