April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

3: Who needs 297 anyway?

by 0beah - Jam Entry

W: to attack
S: to defend
A: to move back
D: to move forward

Games over when all 3 little spartan dudes are dead.

Minotaur can only be hurt by spears (barrel through shields)
Hydras can only be hit reflected fireballs.



We tried to incorporate the minimal theme into everything. From game play mechanics to colour scheme.
This is our very first Ludum Dare. I had a load of fun and I came to view all of the team in a new light. Its refreshingly awesome to see what we can do when we actually try. Good job guys!

Team:
Code: Glen Henry (code monkey)
Lead Artist: Jabari Brown (Pixel God!!!)
Sound: Jamaal Chanroo (Owner and person who gave us food)
Sound: Shaun Douglas (Mystery Memeber X!)

So .... here it is!
3!!!!!!!!!!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Graphics(Jam)3.79
#127Theme(Jam)3.69
#138Mood(Jam)3.40
#210Humor(Jam)2.38
#271Overall(Jam)3.14
#290Audio(Jam)2.86
#291Fun(Jam)2.83
#308Innovation(Jam)2.83
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

I always like a game with a greco-roman theme. A little bit on the loose side with controls, but otherwise fun.

Argembarger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Pretty cool style, here.

madlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21am

i like the style a lot, although the gameplay became a little to easy. I would like to have seen a motivation for letting the player move left/right (ie, a reason to ever move to the right). Good job on your first ludum dare!

May 1, 2013 @ 5:13am

Nice fast-paced reflex game. The game was quite big on my laptop screen however, and pressing up/down would shift the entire browser window along with it. I found that rapidly pressing W and S in quick succession can let my guys survive for quite some time :P Maybe like madlee said, an incentive to move around can add another level of interesting gameplay without really getting rid of the minimalism.

Otherwise, a fun little game. I love the smooth frame-by-frame animation of the soldiers!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:43am

Love the art, and the mechanics hit the theme very well :)

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:28am

Quite fun, would be nice to have a score thing or something.

May 4, 2013 @ 1:31am

WOW!!!! Once I got the concept, this was an awesome game! Sure, it gets repetitive at the end, but it really is fun, and the art style is AMAZING! Games = art? This sure does! I'd love to see this played on an urn, or perhaps a future version with multiple urns, each with their own challenges?

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:19am

Neat style, yay.

domrein says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:14am

I liked it. The game moved way too fast, but it was pretty fun. Great use of the theme as well.

Marnix Suilen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Great art and fast gameplay!

joekinley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:11pm

What a tough game. It is very hard as soon as you did your first block, as the changing of the enemies came very rapidly. So it was hard to catch up. Also the controls were rather hard as I had to steer with my left hand.

Still nice work. I like the basic idea and the graphics. Good job on that. Was fun to play.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Would love to see some goal or score for this game, to keep the player motivated. Other than that it's a pretty good game! Wonderful audio.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]