April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist RTS

by aaron9000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hold control points to earn resources. Spend resources on more soldiers. Get a soldier across the map to win.

This is an HTML5 submission. Use Google Chrome for the best experience.

Enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Fun3.62
#135Overall3.70
#142Theme4.03
#163Graphics3.75
#326Mood3.18
#359Innovation3.38
#428Humor2.42
#670Audio2.51
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01am

Very cool, love the idea.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02am

That was really fun! Cool idea, too. I'm not sure if it's even possible to win on medium (let alone difficult), but uh... yay!

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08am

nice

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13am

Neat; I beat medium on my first go, so it's possible. Very nice graphics; the gameplay is fun. I wasn't sure of exactly what the strategy should be, other than to try to hold the other guy's bases where possible and then flood all the channels. Fun, and very nice looking.

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

Lovely! Wonderful concept! I'm a fan of RTS games as it is, this is truly superb! The audio leaves something to be desired but it's amazing how this minimal game can be so complex at the same time!

aaron9000 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:32am

Thanks for the feedback guys. I was a little worried that having only one unit would make the game boring, but it seems like there is still some strategy to it.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Short and sweet, good concept, the very sense of the Capture the Points type of game.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

Nicely done graphics. On Firefox I could not see the lightning bolt increasing, so I did not know how much I could reinforce, but that may be a known thing.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42am

Soo much blood! There seems to be a bug where the energy always reads 0, but I can still build units.

aaron9000 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Hmm sounds like there is indeed an issue on Firefox. If you have Chrome installed, that should play the game better. Thanks for the heads up!

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:43am

Simple fun. Great stuff. Would make a great mobile game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

The CPU was evil on hard, and amassed a huge army in one lane XD Good game.

MathiasTCK says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Rock on

sythe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Excellent. This game would be perfect for mobile, IMO. Check out CocoonJS, it'll let you package it up nicely into an APK.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:09am

this was really alot of fun -- like a tower defense rts -- great job!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:07am

Great concept! The game is simple yet you've managed to cram in a good deal of fun and excitement into it :D Way to keep it minimal in an awesome way!

manax says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:42am

Nicely done. Good attention to details. Enjoyed it.

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Satisfying minimalization of the genre. Maybe "Easy" level could be a tiny bit easier?

I'd like to see the buttons flash or something. Because units are created under the buttons and emerge seconds later, there's no immediate, consistent feedback that you've made a unit, except that the number goes down by 1. I guess there's a sound too, sometimes, but not always. I found that I was watching the number or watching for units to eventually emerge from the under-the-button area to make sure they'd really been created, when I should have been watching the field. More button feedback would fix that.

Sometimes it's hard to see the enemy amidst all the blood: both are red. (Why are tanks making blood splashes anyway? Hmmm.)

Kvisle says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:40am

A lovely take on the theme, great fun, great graphics - an overall good game. And incredibly suitable for IOS/Android as well. Add a multiplayer-option and you've got yourself a hit.

ecool377 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:22am

COOOL!!!

Gungnir says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:41am

Nice minimal take on the genre.

May 11, 2013 @ 6:16am

I had a lot of fun! Played from easiest to difficult, and didn't make it on the last difficulty )

Mago says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:11am

cool game concept. I liked that it's simple but very nice.

mollymus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:30am

Not sure if the resource-meter is bugged or if Im just not understanding it? It kept saying "0", yet I could buy loads of soliders..

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:50am

This is actually a really cool take on minimalism. I really enjoyed it. Took me a while to figure out to win, but then I realized it's not about matching all the lanes, just winning in one of them. Well executed!

ashdnazg says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:43pm

A nice game that fits the theme very well, though I didn't find it very challenging.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:19pm

So minimalistic! The soldiers were a bit slow though, they take a lot of time just to appear on screen. Completed each difficulty on the first try.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Clicking one of the four lanes to build a green tank to defend or overrun that lane interested me. I managed the incoming red tanks. If you continue to develop this, I'm not sure yet how to improve my technique.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]