April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Planets

by Pabo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Osmos-like game. Not really finished, but it could pass as a prototype.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#737Theme3.35
#1209Fun2.11
#1300Graphics1.81
#1301Overall2.17
#1327Innovation1.69
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:16am

In its current state the game is too easy / static / silent to be much fun, but at least it's working and it's rather minimal ;).
It can happen that the player is smaller than all the other bodies, too.

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:43pm

At least you spend a nice time. Bad luck that is not even finished.

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:18pm

@stqn Yes, I'm not really satisfied with it, and you're totally right in saying it is too static. The player=smallest body issue is something I noticed but forgot to fix later on, thank you for mentioning it.

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:20pm

@dotteri Thank you, I had a good time indeed. I'm planning to bring it to a more complete stage in my free time, in the coming weeks.

Argembarger says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:04pm

-sluuuuurp-

A nice start.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Could have a lot of fun if it was more developed, but I suppose sometimes that's the nature of LD. Cool prototype though, could see a lot of ways to go with this to make it into a fun game.

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:22pm

@Argembarger Thank you, glad you liked it. I should totally have added some "sluurp" mouthFX, now that you mentioned it.

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Congrats on your first LD! :D

Sure, there's not a lot to it, but you made a game in a weekend.

One think I noticed some graphical glitchiness sometimes, but it's hard to be sure.

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:29pm

@john_conder9 I also hope to continue working on it, I had a good idea or two, but like you mentioned, it's in the nature of LD to cut back on features. Glad you found the prototype interesting, though.

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:04pm

@AtkinsSJ Thank you! I'm also happy that I got to finish the game, even if it's far from its original conception.
The graphical glitches are very likely, especially in the beginning the game runs at about 15-20 fps on my laptop, causing the player's planet to "wobble". It's weird that this simple task takes up so much processing power, but at least the end game runs smoother.

dotteri says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:02pm

@Pabo I meant to tell I've spent a nice time playing it at least =p, the truth.

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:09pm

@dotteri Even better! :)

paulopn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:18am

I like the idea, too bad it's unfinished =(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]