April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Seven

by Baknik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Seven is a puzzle game based upon tangram puzzles. Tangrams can be viewed as a minimalist artform in which seven simple flat shapes are arranged (without overlapping) to create a seemingly infinite number of abstract objects. Minimalism is all about removing unnecessary details from an object or idea while still retaining its core identity, and tangrams test this concept to its limits.

This game was created in GameMaker 8: Standard Edition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#498Theme3.59
#512Fun3.03
#554Graphics3.03
#721Overall3.00
#832Audio2.22
#916Humor1.75
#945Mood2.48
#1225Innovation2.06

Comments

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Really enjoyed playing it. Stylish and elegant. I wish there were more levels though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Hey this is actually really good. And for your first LD as well! You should be really pleased. It's a nice use of the theme.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I enjoy these types of puzzles! I really like the aesthetics and how these shapes form different animals. In a sense, this is what minimalism is! It would be nice to have another button to reverse rotation though. The shapes need to snap in place better as well. Overall, I enjoyed this game.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Love the style and use of theme. Really cool game.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

TANGRAM. Oh god how much did I play with it as I kid. Very well executed, simple and concise and fun to play, and perfectly in theme.

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

I liked how the pieces are placed like if they had a magnet.
From the other hand, making a tangram game doesn't seem original to me.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

This is nice, I like tangrams.

Dohan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Elegant, nice and very good-looking.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:56am

So cute! I thought the cat puzzle was the hardest, still trying to figure it out. The others seemed easy in comparison, but maybe it's just me.

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Notes:

- Very simple idea. Works well for theme.
- Sound effects are nice.
- I can't figure out the puppy!
- Finally got 'em.
- Need more levels!

Things I would change:

- Add some chill music.
- More levels.
- Highlight blocks when the mouse hovers over them.
- Use a list for the blocks: 1. when placing a block, remove it from the list and replace it at the end of the list; 2. when checking collision, start at the back of the list (that is, check for collision in reverse). This way, the foreground blocks are selected instead of background blocks when they are overlapping.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:44am

Nice game, well done ! I liked the concept :D

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:15am

Fun, but needs more levels. Also in the background pattern you need to fill, the gaps for the large triangles cut a few pixels on the sharp corners making it very easy to see where they go. Cleaning that up would make the game more challenging.

alts says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:27am

While not particularly original, the game is theme appropriate and well executed. Good job. One detail that really stood out to be was the subtle tangram background. That was a nice touch.

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:01am

Kinda unoriginal, but that's Tangrams for you.

zkenshin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:47am

That dog, man D:
Got him in the end, though.
Great job (:

Madball says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:18pm

It was too short... It took only a couple of minutes.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]