April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pursuit of Happiness

by paranoiks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just a simplistic game about having a goal and following it til the end. WASD//Arrow keys to move around and explore


PS You might have to install XNA Framework (not sure)
source name differs from the release name because I decided to change the name in the last minute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#115Mood3.58
#149Audio3.43
#270Theme3.86
#293Overall3.44
#433Graphics3.21
#577Humor2.20
#588Innovation3.09
#759Fun2.76

Comments

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

Nice entry. Nice and soothing, though the music isn't looped, so it becomes awfully quiet after a bit.

paranoiks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54am

Yeah, I have no experience whatsoever with loop creating software, so I had to use wolfram to generate something for me and hope for the best

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

Sorry, even with XNA runtime installed, I can't seem to get it to run. :-(

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12am

I really liked it, the metaphor was really nice and the music was absolutely wonderful along with it, however it didn't loop and it really took me out of it when it stopped. Really great atmosphere and message though and I really liked the view mechanic.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Really good marriage of mechanics and narrative. Thanks!

larsendt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

Wow. That was really cool. My only little nitpick was that the music stopped. But still, wow.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

I liked the aesthetics and the mechanics of moving/color switching/teleportation, as well as the integration with the story. Sort of expected the levels to get challenging, but I'm not entirely disappointed that they didn't. Very pleasant experience.

Waave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

I really like this. Maybe it's because I just played through it, but it actually reminds me a lot of Antichamber in its aesthetic.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

Nice set of mechanics, but when it finished I felt like I'd only played the tutorial. With all the great ideas toying with the concept of space, the player only ever has one choice at any given time - move forward. It would be be great to see some puzzles with some challenge.

paranoiks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

I will probably work on expanding the idea into a full-scale game in the future, but I am not sure about it yet

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

As Cheshyr, I have XNA runtime installed, but can't get it to run. I think it might be better without the installer?

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

Quick, bright, and easy on the eyes and ears. Fun!

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

Super cool story. Love the execution. Was hoping to get turned loose with the mechanics. Got a bit frustrated on the back and forth room because I felt like I was supposed to do something else. Great work.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

The new installer fixed things for me. Thank you.

Misael.K says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Feels like a gamefied way of telling a simple story. Cool concept, although gameplay's not too interesting.

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

That was really good, well executed

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27pm

A creative interactive story, but unfortunately no replay value.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

That was a good game. I liked the concept, and the music was nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

It's more a illustrated story than a game, there is no gameplay mechanics. But it's kinda cute.

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Very aesthetically pleasing game, and fits the theme well. :) Good work!

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Very cool. Great message and narrative. Music is great.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice one! I think it almost qualify as a non-game, but still really enjoyed "playing" through it.

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

One time fun. I liked it. Thanks.

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice approach on the theme. The music was nice, really soothing.

sirdorius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

I agree with Greg. The metaphors are nice for a tutorial, but I was expecting to see some puzzles based on all the mechanics that were implemented. An enjoyable experience all in all, but could be much more.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:37am

I'm crying T_T

berkano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Beautiful concept and lovely music, very relaxing to play, I was worried it was going to get super-difficult at some point so was pleasantly surprised to find I'd completed it :-)

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:14am

I've got to say, really impressed. That was a nice experience and congrats on finishing it. :)

Alphonsus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Beautiful, relaxing game! Nicely done.

gerritg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I'll play this again before the next LD ;) Thank you for this piece!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Great atmosphere (almost touching), maybe a bit short.

May 9, 2013 @ 3:36am

Besides the nitpick which others mentioned about the non-looping of music, I think this was a really good example of staying true to the theme. Well done,I say.

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Relaxing :)

May 19, 2013 @ 10:23am

The music was solid and set the mood well, and I liked the colors coming together in certain levels maybe a little more than I should have.
The mechanics-as-metaphor was interesting, although I think the gameplay suffered a little for it. Creating more difficult puzzles would help, but I'm not sure if that'd hurt the theme. In any case, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]