Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MagnoMonster

by puttputt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MagnoMonster is a 2.5D puzzle game created by Kyle Smyth. Players play as the monster, whose horns are magnetic, to collect hearts and avoid bombs.

The theme Minimalism was interpreted as having models with very low polycounts, very basic/cartoony particle effects and simple gameplay mechanics.

Use WASD to control the Monster and SPACEBAR to swap the horn magnet polarity.


Built in Unity3D.
Models in Cinema4D.
Textures/Particles/Logo/Menus in Photoshop / Inkscape.
Sound in Audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#284Humor2.68
#484Innovation3.21
#521Graphics3.07
#662Fun2.86
#732Mood2.71
#861Overall2.89
#889Audio2.11
#1338Theme2.14

Comments

mire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

think it's really cute (especially when you die), but the sound effects are too prominent

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

It's pretty fun and challenging to collect all the hearts. The death / explosion art feels a bit out of place, its not the same style as everything else. You could use some more level design bits in there to really spice things up, even just walls would go a long way.

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

Cool and funny game. :)

I really like the "pickup animation" on the hearts and if you die.
good job

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

Really cool graphics. Sound can be better :)
Gameplay its quite nice.

wccrawford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Sometimes the spacebar didn't actually switch the polarity, and that was painful. It looked like it'd switch, then suddenly be back where it started.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Wow, this is pretty challenging. Very smart game concept.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Cool and funny game. :)

Zampi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Wow! Very funny and cute. Great job

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40pm

great idea here, the controls are a bit harsh but i like it :D

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Like the 2.5D, the cute devil, the gameplay. Thanks for including tutorials. Positioning is very sensitive, movement skill test not so appealing to me but it is challenging to try to grab a heart out of the middle.

May 3, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Awesome idea.

Polar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Quite a nice game, and I really liked the low poly-count hearts - for whatever reason, it reminded me of Ocarina of Time from the Legend of Zelda series :) My only issue was the animations when you got a heart or died, they seemed a bit out of place.

Jellycakes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Was a pretty cool mechanic, although it was really frustrating to actually win. Other than that it was good.

Prelucid says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

The main character looks like Spyro. I like this magnetism idea a lot and it was really well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]