April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

circlesLT

by evelyn-jolli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires xbox 360 controller with functioning triggers.
controls are in the readme

3 varying prototypes usign same mechanic

game maker studio source included

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#844Innovation2.75
#885Humor1.81
#1169Mood2.11
#1196Fun2.15
#1217Graphics2.10
#1236Coolness49%
#1247Theme2.60
#1284Overall2.24

Comments

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

No xbox controller here :( , so no rating

Is there no way to include "normal" keyboard controls?

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

Shooting didn't seem to work. I managed to pump up the shield and get the red line in the 2nd one but not shoot. Didn't know what was going on in the third one.

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

requirements are dum

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

Second prototype is the most "gamey." Resource gathering is kinda tedious, mostly because holding left stick in one place is hard as balls! Also defending the base becomes pretty much impossible when faster enemies start to spawn, because viewing distance is so low you barely have time to react.

That being said, I think something along the lines of the first prototype would make better game. Some kind of autoscrolling survival adventure with pumping soundtrack? Dunno!

Using analog input to scale character is pretty rad idea and I hope you will make a great game utilizing it.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

No XBox Controller, so couldn't play. Sorry

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

No xbox controller

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

No Xbox Controller :(

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17am

No controller, can't play - sorry :(

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

No XBox controller here, either.

Tozy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Could you upload a video so we can see how the game would be if we had XBox controller?

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19am

Yes upload a video, I cannot play it

errorage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

I do have an xbox controller and dug up the thing that connects it to the pc. I like ~that~ you used the controller. However, playing prototype 2 is extremely difficult, and it is the most game-y of the lot. I think prototype 2 with auto aiming at the nearest target would work best.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47am

I agree with some of the other comments, here: asking for an XBox controller is not a realistic requirement.

Too bad! It certainly looks promising :(

glbs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58am

I Agree, would be nice to see a gameplay video to get an idea, the screenshots are interesting

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:03am

no controller >/*

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Don't have XBOX controller

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:47pm

cool ideas - i liked the bigger you = bigger bullet thing when i figured it out. i find precision with controller quite hard so trigger was a bit fiddly and trying maintain any position relative to the center was quite hard. i think its an interesting idea that could improve a lot with tweaked curves/sensitivity for the inputs

May 6, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Cool ideas, but a bit too hard to precision-move with a controller in my honest opinion. :/

Andy West says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:22am

Sorry that I can't rate this. No XBox controller.

Brunodev says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Dude...I don't have an xbox controller on my PC.

mikeware says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:03pm

It's a great start to something. I feel like you should have just had all three parts integrated into the tutorial the first wave and the second. I think one of the hardest things is that you occlude the status with your cursor, so having the light-blue filling up around the outside of the outer circle to show your progress would be better.

It also took too long to capture things, the manual dexterity is hard enough, don't make me have to follow or stay somewhere for like 5 seconds.

The right-trigger wasn't explained very well and I didn't see how it factored into the other parts.

I'd like to see this fine-tuned though. You could have also easily added mouse input, it probably would have made the game a lot easier even with the longer hold times.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]