April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dracula RGB

by project_scientist - Jam Entry

Authors: project_scientist, sarum90

Dracula RGB is an homage to the classic Castlevania for NES. Fight Dracula's minions and navigate his castle to slay him.

Controls:
Arrow keys: move
Space: Jump
Z: Attack
X: Switch active weapon
C: Pickup item

Networking: Play singleplayer or multiplayer (LAN or Hamachi) with a friend. Networking code is a tad optimistic, and most likely a tinge buggy.

Tools used: Photoshop, Tiled, sfxr
Language: C++
Library: SFML

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Theme(Jam)3.60
#266Overall(Jam)3.15
#282Graphics(Jam)3.15
#322Mood(Jam)2.76
#328Fun(Jam)2.75
#435Innovation(Jam)2.39
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I love this concept! At first I though the art looked a little garish, but it totally gre on me.

Jonny D says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:50am

Somebody needs to tell Dracula that his castle decor is so 80's... Umm. 1880's. Anyhow, it kept crashing on me randomly, after around a minute of play.

Beldarak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:04pm

It's unplayable in single player, I pass through walls, ground, etc. But I played on multiplayer by launching the game two times (client and server with 127.0.0.1 ip address) and it worked perfectly fine.

The game's pretty nice, I kinda love the graphics but couldn't play too much time because they burned my eye :D

Congrats :)

Misfit says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Castlevania is one of my favorites! And this "clone" looks great. Good job!

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Loved the art! It's a bit too colored but this can be better polished. Nice entry!

ChuiGum says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:47pm

LOVE LOVE LOVE the art. The game was very fun also, I enjoyed it a lot!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:08pm

nice game, fun to play! :)
I love castlevania series and so this minimal one!
I'd like less saturated colors, but this was your choice.

psychopsam says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:53am

Arrggg my eyes!!! Great game. Reminded me of something the Atari VCS would run. Very clever and you must have had a headache when you developed this, so kudos for bringing it to life. Nice work on all counts. Probably most authentic pixel art I have ever seen.

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Graphics are a bit harsh, and the gameplay is very difficult. I had a hard time telling what I was looking at -- were there pickups? I couldn't figure out a way to power up.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]