April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimalist

by Dans17 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as the Minimalist and try to find the easiest way to beat complex levels. Download it in Scratch to see the source code and to play the game smoother.

If you get stuck, look at the hints! (I recommend using.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#356Humor2.55
#647Audio2.54
#941Innovation2.59
#970Theme3.08
#1188Mood2.04
#1214Fun2.10
#1219Overall2.41
#1319Graphics1.68

Comments

frogman987 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

Interesting Game and technique used.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Gnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn frustratingly hard! Nice silly music and sfx though.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:30am

The motion just isn't smooth enough to be playable. I really couldn't get past the first level. I did appreciate the audio.

BTW: I'm colourblind and really couldn't tell the red areas from the green ones at all.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:59am

GRAG! Ok, I got the first level now. Reading your description in the main page post made me give it another shot.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:02am

Now that I get "the thing", that's pretty cool. It still feels terrible to control, but I'm guessing that's by design. Overall, I'm conflicted but I like what you are going for.

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:11am

Well, I for sure didn't get it. I just saw a game with terrible control that, judging from the music and sound effects, may have a "secret agenda" or a meta use of the theme. But, again, I didn't get it.
So, it didn't feel as minimalistic as just simplistic. Not that that is necessarily a bad thing, mind you, but in this case, if your goal was to make us look at your game in a specific way, I think you may want to help us go beyond the first impression.

intripoon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:37am

Wow, super hard!

scheurneus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:40am

Nice concept, but VERY hard. When it is a little easier, it is way better!
Funny music.

ZYXer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:18am

Great music, especially when it is enhanced by the sound of my constant dying. ;)
Seems like an interesting concept, but sadly the game is not running smoothly enough on my computer to be playable.

Spiridios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:45am

Really liked the idea and execution here. You come to a level, you think you know how to solve it, you try and die and try and die again only to find the solution is a outside-the-box gimmick that's really easy to pull off. And you managed to not reuse the puzzle solutions. I think it's a bit of a stretch to call it minimalism, but I've seen worse ;)

Oh, you might want to label the link "Web (Flash)", you might get more players that way.

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:19am

I managed it with the hints, but it was a bit too clever. Definitely unique though. :-)

manax says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:04am

Boo, website is down. Can't play. :(

MartianWatts says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:00am

I can't play.. :( the link it's broken

mrexcessive says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:12am

unrated, scratch website down

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:06am

Doh. Scratch website down until May 9th.

deathray says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:32am

Same for me - scratch website down.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Interesting....... a bit difficult!

Dans17 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:55am

Sorry that the Scratch website is down! I hope you return to play it later.

Andy West says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:23am

Sorry, but I can't rate this while the Scratch site is down. :(

Dans17 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Scratch is back up.

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:31am

gkvgkgvkhgvk I hate losing sooo much, are you sure you didn't created a rage game? because god it's difficult xD''''

hissssssssss says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:04am

I get that there were clever solutions to each level, but the effect of solving the puzzle would have been stronger if the movement was better. Having it seem completely possible to complete a level the "normal" way would do a lot. It's easy to just get frustrated with the jumpy glitchy movement and jumping and quit. It would have been a lot more fun to play around with the levels otherwise.

bvanschooten says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:18pm

This game doesn't play fair, but I think it's funny and entertaining. I never found out how I beat the first level, but after I'd seen that, the others were a lot easier. I think it's good to make the 1st level a bit easier, otherwise people will really think you have to jump over the obstacles, and will never see the rest of the game. Pity there are not more levels, this could be a hit with more levels. It said I beat the game but I never saw the level featured in the screenshot.

HelkeGames says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Neat game, very minimalist well done :D

Syawra says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:41am

Mmh, funny, quite hard but I liked the way of thinking it requires :)
The controls could have been a bit smoother though.

henrykun says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:38am

It's insanely hard xD haha very challenging, maybe if it had like more responsive controllers or I don't know exactly what it is, would be lot better. Really like the idea.

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I came back and rated this quite a bit more highly once I learned that there's a trick to the game. It's somewhat unclear that there's "more beneath the surface"
If you make a post-compo updated version, you should give a bit more of a hint that we're looking for a trick, maybe
That said, good work on making a game with a twist, and I enjoyed the level where you have to (Spoiler ahead) walk through the platform with your face embedded in it!

BradleySmith says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:45am

Interesting concept.

Haette says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:59am

I love how there's some sort of "deception event horizon" where pulling these dirty tricks goes from annoying to clever. I enjoyed this!

Gotta say though, that janky movement is the weirdest damn thing I've ever seen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]