April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wandering in the void

by hmmvot - Jam Entry

This is a game about the Foursquare and his existential suffering. Help him to fill the inner emptiness.

This is a very hardcore game :)

In a gameworld there is an invisible path consisting of vertical and horizontal lines of the equal length. The Foursquare must move along those lines otherwise it will become transparent and will die. The goal of the game is to find the triangles to fill the Foursquare's inner emptiness.

Tested in
- Google Chrome and Safari (ok)
- Firefox and Opera (no sounds :( )

Developers:
Alexander Sokolenko
Ilya Sukhorukov
Dmitry Shatov
Roman Senin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#195Innovation(Jam)3.22
#305Audio(Jam)2.79
#332Mood(Jam)2.74
#338Humor(Jam)1.89
#347Graphics(Jam)2.93
#394Overall(Jam)2.82
#497Fun(Jam)2.19
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

hardcore, indeed. i couldn't get past the first couple of moves.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

didn't really get it, but i liked the style of the game

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Very minimalistic, liked the idea behind the game. I found it to be a bit frustrating, even once I'd figured out what to do. It's a tad too unforgiving if you stray too far from the path in my opinion. Otherwise I liked the characterisation of the shapes and the music :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

kinda hard to figure out haha

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Sorry, I just can't figure out what to do! A preloader might have been nice too, I thought it was broken at first!

shattik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Gameplay video explains the proper technique of playing. It is difficult to quickly grasp what to do, but a few minutes later the game gets interesting :)

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01am

A clever concept but annoyingly unforgiving - I can accept "stray too far from the path and you die," but the "death margin" feels too twitchy, especially since (as I eventually learned) the square shapes don't actually align with the path.

I quit after I collected two triangles, died, and had to start over. :(

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Really enjoyable once you get into it.
Nice concept (:

May 4, 2013 @ 2:12am

I don't understand :(

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:16am

Very hard to pick up. The idea is quite interesting, but the controls don't help (diagonals for the win in the 21st century) and it's very easy to miss. If it was a bit more forgiving and/or the controls were a bit more responsive, I would say it was a good challenge. However, these changes are "low hanging fruits" which I think can be made very easily.

Shigor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Might be nice idea, but hardcore? more like insane... i really didn't have the patience for this :/

Floko says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:08am

its a nice idea. I like the game style. I fit nice the theme nicely

The gameplay could be more forgiving, IMO. But that may not be your focus and I'm okay with that =]

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]