April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bezier Challenge

by Travis Irby - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare was awesome fun! Bezier Challenge is a physics based puzzle game. Collect the dots by adjusting the landscape of the levels.

*Instruction:

You can only drag the curves within the semi-transparent purple shapes. You have a certain number of shots (shown on top left) you must collect 80% of the dots to unlock the next level. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Innovation(Jam)4.35
#115Overall(Jam)3.57
#137Theme(Jam)3.66
#154Fun(Jam)3.22
#221Graphics(Jam)3.40
#305Mood(Jam)2.82
#350Humor(Jam)1.85
#373Audio(Jam)2.39

Comments

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49am

Interesting, but it doesn't work well on a low-resolution screen.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49am

Brilliant, took a second to realise I could only move things in the purple area though.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Very cool, challenging, but satisfying when achieved.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

Thanks for the comments! Yea sorry about the resolution, I realized right at the end that shrinking the resolution messed things up :( Try right clicking and going fullscreen. Also the desktop versions coming soon might work better for you.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

Also apologies on the lack of a good tutorial. Like FivethumbsDown mentioned, you can only drag within the semi-transparent shapes.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Really well done! Had trouble learning I could move the dots only inside the area of the shapes, it's a little non-intuitive even though you say it in-game.

The idea was really original, and the implementation was good.
The art and the game have a minimalist feel, could've used some music though.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:08am

This is like the angry birds for math geek haha.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

Beautifully made and fits the theme well! I have to agree that showing the control points for non-interactive dots can be confusing.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33am

Whoa this was interesting, really original! Hmm, perhaps there could have been some music. But it's enjoyable. mathematicians will probably like this a lot.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03am

bit hard to play it on smaller displays/resolutions.. but it's a great concept!

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24am

Very good game, a little nerdy.... XD.. Good concept and funny

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04am

Thanks for all the positive comments, you guys are awesome! I uploaded a new version of the web player that is small resolution. Hope that is better for everyone. No other changes made :)

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

Super duper beautiful and smooth. Had a lot of fun with this one. I love the sound effect when you shoot! Little ticker, is satisfying.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08am

Awesome! So original and compelling. :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

Very cool idea!

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19am

Took me a while to figure out what to do. The arrow doesnt quiet line up with the areas they are supposed to point to at my res.

Cool idea once i figured it out.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:03am

This was nice. :) Really challenging for me, but thats just how my brain is wired. A bit polish here and there and I can see this becoming very popular :) The feedback from hitting the dots was very rewarding.

Dabuuker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

Nice! It looks great and is quite addictive!

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Really nice, very much appealed to my programmer brain!

Got very tricky very quickly though! Would help to see the initial velocity of the stream as I kept forgetting the angle it would start at!

Would have liked some music, but the various sounds made up for it. Very nicely presented :)

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Fantastic concept & nice art.

Tozy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Very innovative! It becomes a little hard because a small change in the curve can make a lot of difference in the trajectory of the beam.

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:04am

A very interesting idea! The graphics are gorgeous, elegant, and minimal. I thought the game was quite difficult. It would be nice to have an idea of the initial trajectory of the lin. On level 4, I noticed you can move purple dots between purple patches (maybe intentional?). Overall an excellent entry

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51am

Man, this is so cool. So simple, but yet so addictive. Great work!

basspenguin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

Love it! Nice relaxing gameplay. Love the progressive sound effects!

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:02am

This is a great game. Very fun.

pjchardt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:06am

Very interesting and original. I love the visual presentation and mechanics. Had trouble selecting things sometimes. Not sure if you have any logic for clicking in proximity or if you have to click right on the object but I struggled a few times to click on what I meant to. Granted I am using a touch pad. Nice game though. Could work well with touch controls on a mobile device.

Finnegan2100 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26am

What a cool, original game! Hard, but a lot of fun. Great job!

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:21am

Fantastic concept, and very nicely executed. I love the visual feel of the whole experience.

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:03am

Nice game. Didn't make it to the end as I got stuck on one of the levels and couldn't figure out how to do it.

saguaro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:59pm

This is really cool puzzle game. It took me a few to figure out how to play, but once I got the hang of it I dug it. There is something so satisfying about getting the angle just right.

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Although it's only possible to drag things inside the blue area, it is possible to drag one of the handles attached to a point, then drag the point itself, such that the handle is actually quite a long way outside the blue area. You can get quite extreme curves this way; not sure if it's intended behaviour, but the game still works. And a very interesting game it is!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Wow this is pretty. Is the bezier stuff hand-coded or something available on the Unity store? Either way, great implementation!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Really appreciate all the comments and feedback! Dark Acre Jack - the bezier curves are shapes from the Ragespline asset. Highly recommended.

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Neat game! The physics are good, the graphics are smooth, and I've never quite played one like this before. I got stuck on level 4 though. :(

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:00am

wow, this game is cool, but quite difficult (it took me a while to know what do I have to do xD')

guestcheap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:29am

Very cool idea, and great execution. I liked it!

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:47am

Was a really cool concept which made it very fun to play and got me addicted. Couldn't get past the 4th level though, oh well. Very nice game!

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Interesting puzzle, pretty fun challenge but I cannot for the life of me beat level 4

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

This is a really neat puzzle game!

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Very clever idea and well executed too!

Hopps says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Pretty nice concept you have here, Well done!

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:42am

I tried the web version, but it crashed after I clicked the first level on the title screen. I'm using Chrome, if it helps to mention (I'm not sure if that affects it at all; quite unfamiliar with Unity's webplayer.)

Once I downloaded the windows version though, I found the game itself both creative and enjoyable. It kept things fresh by introducing new streams of colored light with different behaviors each level. Also, I never got frustrated when misjudging how to adjust the landscape because of the game's forgiving nature. Finally, it's worth mentioning that the presentation is clean and professional.

All in all, a very welcome addition to the LD. Highly recommended.

Beldarak says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:02am

I don't want to know how you got that idea, but it's brilliant !

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:09am

I was both amazed and frustrated by this game. Some levels were very intuitive, some levels were just hit-and-miss spam-it-and-see. My favourite parts were the paths that flowed, rather than ricochet. Also think the non-interactive handles were a distraction. Overall a very impressive idea, the movement flowed very nicely. Well Done =]

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:02am

Nice, if a bit slow!

reverso13 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:01am

Very original puzzle-game!

Canyon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:52am

Beautiful game. Like @FiveThumbsDown I found it confusing that there were handles visible that I couldn't move. I am amazed that this is your first entry, it is super polished well done.

I think if there was no limit of shots I would have been more absorbed in the game.

The game is beautiful!

Greg Power says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:40pm

One of the most original mechanics I've seen so far!

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:46pm

This could easily be a skill development tool for Illustrator!

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Challenging and cool. A bit well polished and could be a nice mobile game. Good job!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Great game. Impressive solution to the theme. Congratulations!

May 3, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Solid title!

Love the graphics and the general idea, which I haven't seen before.

It doesn't get quite clear that some of the points can be moved, while others are decorative, though.

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:05am

Interesting concept and very puzzling, good job! :D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:18am

Interesting idea but the game rythm is a bit slow. Maybe the particle is a bit small too.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:30am

Awesome game! Taking a simple concept like making bezier curves and turning it into a game is a brilliant idea.

Hayawi says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:15pm

This definitely appeals to the math nerd in me :D

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:45pm

That was awesome. Very original.
Managed to get to the end, but missed a couple of dots on the second to last level.

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Very interesting.

dannycalleri says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very nice puzzle game, the best I played in this jam! ... and I really like the graphics :)

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Quite an innovative entry. Challenging too.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:07am

I had quite a lot of fun and the idea is interesting (the "maths nerd" living in my spirit is pleased !). But as the game is very challenging, it could have used more explanations about what's going on (bouncing and stuff).
Also, what a peculiar idea to have different sounds for no reason ! But I liked it !

tankete says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:16am

Wow! Very unique idea. I really liked the first level. But the difficulty spiked pretty quickly. Would recommend a less "steep" progression. Really liked it though.

RawBits says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Very nice unique idea. There are lots of bugs though due to design I think. But some can be intentional IDK.

You can only move things within the purple areas. This means I can not change intermediate points if they are out or I can if theay are in another purple area. This makes it a little cumbersome to handle. I would do it like having the control points stay in the purple area let the intermediate points move but sign - with an X, red color or whatever - if they are not in the purple.

Another thing is the view can be moved but the text isn't move with it.

Last but the most annoying one is if you select a point and click away outside of the purple area the selected point jumps towards.

Other than these I liked hoe the game plays. Especially the shooting thingamajiggi. I used something a lot like that in one of my real time data analyzing software for finding local minimums. :D

joshimoo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Good job.
Interesting Concept, fits the theme very well.

Haette says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:25am

Plays nice, but it feels a little slow or... dry, or something. A little liveliness would do wonders, I think. Nice job on the aesthetic though, it looks like something right out of a math textbook.

Also found a bug, you can drag points from one purple area all the way over to a separate purple area.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]