About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 14 hours, 8 minutes, 15 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 14 hours, 20 minutes, 15 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 15 hours, 8 minutes, 15 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    raveGRID - sick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Game of neons, lasers and shapes.
    Avoid enemies and find your target in the crowd as fast as possible.

    Controls:
    WSAD + Mouse
    E - Eliminate
    F - Focus
    R - Restart

    Made with Unity, SketchUp, Paint.NET and Garageband.
    Special thanks for Ret44, Spierek and all the BlueBrick guys for jamming together!

    View sick's journal. | View all entries by sick

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #127Graphics3.84
    #475Audio2.83
    #579Mood2.85
    #619Overall3.11
    #621Innovation3.04
    #670Humor2.07
    #817Fun2.70
    #1135Theme2.83

    Comments

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

    I think it's too pretty a game to be web-only. In my experience, the Unity web plugin runs at about half the framerate of standalone builds.

    CTATZ says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

    I really enjoyed your game! The atmosphere was nice.

    theomnis says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

    I love any Unity game that puts instructions straight in the game. It took me a couple times to actually catch the target. A neat game, for sure.

    stqn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Can you make a Linux binary? There is no unity web player for Linux.

    sick says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

    @stqn Oh, i didn't know, it's a shame. I'll try to prepare Linux standalone soon (as well as standalones for other platforms).

    s0ulcrusher says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

    I had a hard time figuring out how not to get caught, how are they catching you? Proximity over time?

    pknowles says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

    took a little while to realise the target wasn't the one right at the start. makes for quite a suspenseful game (if you don't use F to intentionally move enemies out of the way. maybe only the closest few should give chase?)

    LionOfOrange says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    Nice graphics but gameplay to hard for me..

    grimpunch says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

    14 seconds :D

    Merkoth says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    Really like the idea, a little too heavy for webplayer, though. Like the looks too.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

    An assassin-game. Nice idea!

    Artstyle is also quite unique.

    bigbazwa says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    I liked the graphic style. It took me several tries before I figured out that the diamond thing I was looking for wasn't the one right at the start.

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

    Really good looking

    pjchardt says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

    I just warped to a mash up universe of 1980's style and 2080 flair. I like the atmosphere bu the game seems haphazard in its difficulty. I kept running into enemies just trying to walk around. Maybe open up the corridors or slow down everyone's speed? I like the premise though!

    CogComp says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

    Nice style, but a bit too difficult. Couldn't find my target.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

    lol, wow, that was some trippy shiznit (in a good way)! =D

    bytegrove says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

    The graphics looks really good, they felt very fluent. I like the atmosphere, felt a little like participating in laser tag or like some kind of weird nightclub. :D
    However, I could not get the hang of the gameplay at all. The controls felt pretty sluggish, and the choice of action buttons felt poor, I would rather prefer having them on the right side so I could utilise both hands. Also, maybe try to add more visual/audio feedback when approaching/targeting or when enemies spot you. The corridors felt a little tight as well, maybe add some more variance to them?
    The setting and atmosphere is top notch though, nice work!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    Awesome game! I found that the guards can't catch you if you stand on their heads. hahaha

    Brassawiking says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    The dynamics this game created was truly inspiring. This is an actual stealth game compared to many other big titles. It created real cause and effect when you tried to infiltrate. Only thing I missed was some feedback whether I was in focus mode or not. It seemed like focus mode stayed on for a short while and then turned off by itself?

    Great game none the less. Loved the graphics and the motion blur!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    Awesome game! I found that the guards can't catch you if you stand on their heads. hahaha

    PTSnoop says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    I had the same problem as a few other people - I thought the green example guy was the target, and got confused. Also, I managed to make things quite a lot easier by standing a long way away from the city yelling "I'm focussed! Come and get me!", then darting past the crowd of reds and searching the crowd with impunity.

    But on the plus side, very distinctive visuals, nicely balanced difficulty (my sneaky tactics notwithstanding), and a great style of gameplay that I wish we saw more of in LDs. Nice work!

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55am

    Really nice graphics, but a little lacking on the gameplay. Focus wouldn't even work for me, so maybe thats something to check out. Nice job anyway.

    Xatulu says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

    Good atmosphere! Enjoyed it quite a bit!

    Griffablanc says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

    I love the atmosphere of your game :3

    stromchin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

    Unity pro is nice!

    Pinkerator says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

    Neeeed stand-alone version :)

    jolle says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

    Fancy graphics.

    Mouse sensitivity was too high for me and I have a problem with the motion blur, so gets a bit sick from playing it.

    I got caught a lot.

    Oliver Simon says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

    I liked the atmosphere. The gameplay was fun, bet the instructions were a bit confusing.

    jhrrsn says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

    Nice concept, couldn't work out that the target was in the maze til i check the comments but other than that, very enjoyable

    Zim the Fox says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 4:13am

    The mouse sensitivity... It is so high!!!

    It's an interesting concept otherwise. Got lucky and made it in 10 seconds :3

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Wild game! very hard. love the post-process work.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]