April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Abyss

by SomeNetworkGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide the red ball through the Abyss in a sea of dangerous blocks! Abyss is an entrancing game featuring minimalist style art and music. Avoid blocks and pick up points by running into point cubes and try to beat your high score. But try not to be hypnotized by the music and the visuals of the just out of reach end of the Abyss!

Check out these games too!:

* Essense (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=5268)
* Your awesome game here (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/what-about-a-game-ring/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#598Audio2.64
#743Mood2.70
#786Fun2.73
#816Theme3.27
#835Overall2.91
#899Humor1.79
#923Innovation2.62
#942Graphics2.55

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

When I try to play it, it says "Invalid data file". It says:

"Invalid data file
Data file is corrupt (not a Unity Web Player file)"

Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Uh oh... I'll try to get that fixed...

Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Ok, the problem with the Unity Web Player should be fixed now!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

I need some 3D glasses for this one. Very cool. I wish there was a way to get back life points.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

Overall not a bad game, after a little practice I managed to get 43000. The block exploding mechanic encourages movement through the center when you'd otherwise avoid it, which is good. The perspective takes some getting used to, it can be hard to tell how far away things are. It also feels a little "flat," you might think about ramping up the difficulty over time to keep it interesting.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

Very neat.. Great job..

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50am

Nice, i like the red blocks mechanic.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Simple and fun, but I had a hard time telling how close I was to the white boxes, thankfully it meant I got hit less than I thought :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

This is a good start, but as others have noted, it's the same throughout. Difficulty doesn't get harder as you go.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

Cool game, very psychedelic and really worth a play. Simple game play but manages to hold your interest. Good work!

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:53am

Fun mechanic, but it's a bit hard to tell what's the depth of the objects on scene. Reminded me of the bonus levels on Earthworm Jim, going for the obstacles when you had the power-up.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Great concept... Minimal runner with physics. Good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Very nice game! It is hard to see how close you are to the obstacles... needs something to help player gauge the scale. I enjoyed it very much, though!

Zillix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:07am

really trippy. nice straightforward gameplay, great job!

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:41am

Pretty cool! If you want to make it easier for players to gauge depth try enabling fog in the render settings, or you could also add some varied point lights throughout the tunnel and make the obstacles a darker color so you can see the lights play along the surface as they move towards you.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Not bad, but I didn't like the music very much... sorry! Otherwise cool, like you are a blood cell floating in a vein or something... Player speed could be increased a little bit, that would be perfect!

May 2, 2013 @ 5:43pm

I like the core concept, visually it reminds me of the Funkyboard segments from Rayman 3. The music is fine at first but it quickly gets tiring once you realize the kick-ass drum beat you keep thinking is going to kick in never does.

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:23am

It a fun game, but very difficult to tell where I am in relationship to everything.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:16am

Nice game ! A little hard to see where we are in space and what is the best path. Nice music :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:51am

Fun, if a little repetitive. Inspired by AaAaAA!!! - A Reckless Disregard for Gravity?

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:03pm

You should add a sound when you hit a bar and loose life, when you grab a bonus it makes a crash sound that really let you think you did wrong. The game itself is fun to play and I like the music too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]