April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Game of Tao

by flyingrobot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is game of switching your nature, in the right time in your journey. You are a balance of two natures, Yin and Yang.

The Yang Ray attracts both the bad and good elements. And the Yin Ray destroys everything. Use 'Tab' key to switch between them. Let the white elements reach your spirit, and enlighten you, do not let the dark elements reach you. Or you will have to despair! Also beware of the deceptive bosses.

Just a single keystroke is all you need to attain Nirvana! Focus on the Tiijitu, because distraction is heightened when you are at the very end of your journey.

This game is made with PlayMaker (http://hutonggames.com/) Middleware and it's needed to check the source code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#590Theme3.50
#650Innovation3.00
#683Graphics2.88
#732Mood2.71
#996Overall2.74
#1002Humor1.58
#1047Audio1.47
#1094Fun2.34
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Kroltan says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Does it count? It uses paid middleware...

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:18pm

As long as all content is created in the 48 hours, the tools you use don't matter

flyingrobot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

Rule 4. : All publicly available libraries and middleware are allowed.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

There's something deep happening here; perhaps I attained enlightment & didn't realize it.

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

looks great and absolutely fits the theme.
but unfortunately I got a bit bored before the end.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

It seems very original and unique but I couldn't develop a good strategy, I found myself pressing tab almost randomly :(
I'm probably getting old...

atrodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Very cool concept and challenging. I really enjoyed it.

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18am

nice ying yang.

Done rating. :)

Please do show some love on my game too :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

flyingrobot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

@ finefin and ashdnazg ]
Yes, this game needs more balancing at the end. More bosses may be.

Will release an update!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

"Nice Font!" was my first thought.

Game is interesting too :P

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Good idead. I was surprised to hear no sounds on this game. You could have add so much with just 2 beep and a relaxing and slow background tune.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:39am

Cool style! Thats neat that you used playmaker, I need to check that out more.

tzamora says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:38am

Too simple.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:03am

I finally got it... It's really freaking hard, and those little explody things really screw you over. Very simple, but interesting concept.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:22am

Nice Challenge!

Geoege says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:43pm

"Nirvana Attained" Hell yeah!
Pretty interessing game, love the way on how you control a really minor thing during the game.

May 11, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Very nice game, well tied to the theme and well polished. The right level of difficulty too. All it could have done with is music!

joshimoo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nice concept.

Would be good if you could change the direction of flow.
Also the black dots are very hard to see.

DaveDobson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Really neat idea, fun to play. Took me a while to get used to it, but I enjoyed it, and it was a challenge to figure out how to use the rays correctly. It seemed kind of random when you'd get more white or black incoming blobs, but you could usually make a karma profit overall. Neat idea, good match to the theme.

flyingrobot says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:12am

Thanks for playing the game.

Another build is in the oven with extended gameplay, additional mechanics and above all buddhist chants as the musical basis.

Will release soon.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]