April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Bullet

by Potentialing - Jam Entry

SWF download: http://ge.tt/4Sr8APf/v/0

Hello, fellow Ludum Dare participants! Being my first time to be a part of Ludum Dare, I'm happy to announce that my team has successfully finished our Jam entry, "One Bullet"!

Definitely worth mentioning, we originally planned this project as a level-based adventure centered as an homage to the story of Buddha, whom sacrificed the non-essential things in his life to achieve true euphoria. In relation to our game, we planned to have it change through 4 scenarios: A complex forest, a water dungeon, volcanic area, and finally a sky palace. We further planned the game to progressively get less and less complex, so by the time the player reached the sky palace, the graphics and music would become completely ambient and abstract. In the end, "minimalism" left us with a much shorter experience, but far from our demise.

While time flew by significantly faster than we had anticipated, we're quite satisfied with our entry, and we hope you enjoy it as well!

Programming: flashygoodness
Art & Game Design: Pix3M
Music & SFX: Potentialing

EDIT: Fixed a game-breaking bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Innovation(Jam)4.08
#31Graphics(Jam)4.34
#43Audio(Jam)3.85
#49Overall(Jam)3.78
#88Theme(Jam)3.82
#97Fun(Jam)3.42
#182Mood(Jam)3.24
#248Humor(Jam)2.25
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

The core mechanic of this was very unique and fits well with the theme. The graphics and sound were also extremely good. The game was fun to play, but it starts to become somewhat repetitive. The game is also somewhat hard, especially when your towers disappear and disrupt the pattern you were planning on the shot following. It's a shame you didn't get all the features you wanted in, I'm sure more levels would have added some variety to the gameplay.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Wow great music and sfx, the core idea is also top, it's a very impressive jam entry.
Too many good points, so I will concentrate on the bad ones :P I think there's no dynamic in hits, the hit animation is small and the fact that the ball have to go through monsters ( for gameplay reason ) ruins the impact effect. Maybe making the monter blink/shake/flash and pause + making the fireball stop & disappear during this period would help. I dont like The cheap "splash" death animation either, It really dont suit the gfx rank of the whole game.
Others ideas I had when playing :
- Making the tower gem color change when they will disappear soon
- Let the player crush his own tower to react faster to thoses really annoying green monsters

May 1, 2013 @ 2:29am

WOW O.O .... Nice game concept is very original bro! :D i also love the little music xD.... The game is very impressive! NICE WORK! Its like a tower defense but also like... idk xD..

netguy204 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:31am

Nice work. The graphics were good. The sound effects were nice and the music was nice for a while (but its repetitiveness was ultimately the reason I stopped playing.)

Great concept. Very original and innovative. I constantly was making interesting tactical decisions to deal with either the eminent threat or try to position myself more generally for the typical threat. That's a pretty neat bit of thinking that emerged from such a simple mechanic.

Well done. Good use of the theme and nice polish.

jayemjee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:31am

The game is fun, and I love the music!

Krahe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

Solid mechanic, fun gameplay and good sound / graphics- this is a really impressive game!

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05am

Nice take on a minimal tactics game!

nseward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:26am

Face palm moment. (Why didn't I think of this?) Great game. Great idea. Great execution. Hat's off. Best game so far and I have rated 50ish.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nice work. It seemed like having any more than two powers puts you at a serious disadvantage, since the enemies move slowly enough to always be hit by the comet between two poles.

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

pretty good for the time given. I like the one bullet idea for a tower defense.

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:56am

Really great idea! The game stands well as it is, even though you ran out of time :)

GamingYourWay says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Excellent mechanic, really nicely done, and the art was great.

( That's it I'm afraid, I think all the other points have been covered off already )

It's one of those games on here you'd like to see progress, given some more time and love and ported over to mobile as that would be an ideal platform for it.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Really cool and unique idea, love the graphics and sounds, nice work!

Docteur says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:35pm

The concept is brilliant! Nice entry!

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:48am

I really really like this concept. It's got a lot of potential and room for expansion.

I didn't really like the feel though. I think it needs to be precise and crisp, and it feels kind of muddy. I don't know what the reasoning is on having the bullet slow down when it gets near a tower, but from here it feels bad. I'd say that it would also be nice if your cursor had the countdown timer on it.

Oh, the trees at the bottom make important things hard to see :(

Volute says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Beautiful art and nice concept :)

Husky says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:55am

Pretty cool!!
I really love this game!
The music and sound effect is so like Seiken Densetsu, for the old good time!
Good job! :D

Knighty says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:00am

The graphics and music were really good. The game's concept is unique, but I kept wishing I could just destroy my towers instead of waiting.

CyberYeti says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:31am

really great game mechanic and a lot of fun to play with a nice atmosphere and music, good job!

IceCliff says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:24am

Very much liked the overall feel of the game. This is one you should continue with after Ludum Dare :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

second try, this time with a mouse instead of trackpad: 12700

woo!

Short but fun, glad to hear you guys made it through!

JohnnySix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:54am

Loved the art and the mechanic, even if it quickly became exceptionally hard to try catch the monsters that took more than one hit in the crossfire. Best of luck - this definitely needs more exposure. :)

JigxorAndy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:50am

This is a truly awesome game. A very unique and fun core mechanic and extremely well polished graphics and sound.

I got up to 19050!

Overall, a fantastic game! Definitely one of my favourites.

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:18am

Notes:

- Music is okay.
- Ohhh. This is going to be tough.
- These fast guys are difficult.
- Game over. Final score: 5500.
- Nice minimal take on tower defense.

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:10am

The first couple comments cover my thoughts. Unique and easy to play, though figuring out how to use positioning was a bit tough.

May 6, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Since it feels like great potential, it looks too basic right now.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Ha, fun idea!

Misael.K says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:08am

Music and graphics are cute, very good. The game as it is, it's fun, but not overly engaging. Your original plan is everything that this game needs.
Keep up the good work!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:37pm

AWESOME GAME!
Loved every aspect of it! Innovative take on tower defense games.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]