April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mono

by Alphonsus - Jam Entry

Mono is a puzzle platformer about a mime who wanted to keep the world minimal.

Collect colored cubes to help Mr. Mime make everything monochromatic.

COLLISION BUG:
# You may get stuck in the walls if you hold the arrow keys while next to them.
# Make sure to land on top of the blocks when jumping and not on the sides.
# Or try moving away from the walls a bit before jumping.
# I am really sorry about this :(

Controls:
- Left and right arrow keys
- Space to jump
- 'R' to reset a level in case you get stuck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#199Fun(Jam)3.08
#210Humor(Jam)2.38
#271Overall(Jam)3.14
#299Graphics(Jam)3.08
#311Innovation(Jam)2.82
#316Theme(Jam)3.16
#329Mood(Jam)2.75
#380Audio(Jam)2.33

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice little game! I liked the graphics and sound effects. Sadly, you can get stuck in the walls if you hold the arrow keys while next to them. Keep up the good work, nonetheless!

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

@Tyro Thanks! And yeah I'm aware of that bug. I hate working with collision. Haha

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

Nice colours and style

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

I really like this concept! unfortunately the gameplay is mined by some collision problem. But I'm pretty sure that a little polish will make this a great game! Good job!

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43am

Level nine is where I lost it. :D Good job, reminded me of the old C64 days!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44am

A pretty interesting game mechanic :) The character hit boxes are much bigger than I would expect for sprites, and the jumping is a bit difficult to judge because of that, but it looks quite nice and is a great idea.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

Awesome game, love the concept, very fun to play.

erdos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

I beat the game! fun and challenging, i've had that exact same problem with collision detection by the way

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

@Everyone - I am really sorry about the collision thing. I will work on it as soon as I can, but I'm really tired atm to even look at lines of code. Haha. Hope you guys had fun though :D

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25am

Good game! Very minimal I love the graphic and the art, well done ;)

Conve says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

i like the concept and the Graphics of this game.!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32am

I like it! The idea is quite simple and minimalist, and that's corresponding to the theme.
The only bad point is that the collisions with walls and ennemies are strange in some cases...

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

The sounds and graphics are good! The collision bug ruins it a little though! :(

mire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

I love the idea and the basic gameplay concept! The jumping physics felt very unforgiving.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Had fun playing this one! Love the way he runs and his standing still posture is hilarious. Good job!

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Nice artstyle. Level 8 feels pretty much impossible though. Am I doing something wrong?

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I really enjoyed this. Encountered a couple small bugs but nothing that ruined the game. Great job!

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

*** LEVEL 8 SPOILER ALERT! ***

@Clavus Make sure to jump on the green platform (don't get the green cube yet) during the zombie chase so he falls down. The pink cube also requires good timing. :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Very great game! I love the puzzly-ness of it.

Awesome job.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Aw, I found a way to cheat to the end of level 8 but it wouldn't let me exit ;-)

Still, solid old-school game!

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

@thatwhichis Yeah, the point of the game is to make the world monochromatic. I should have mentioned somewhere that every colored cube must be picked up before you can exit the level. :D

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Fun and relaxing game. Controls didn't really bother me. Sounds were a bit annoying though.

Chman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

I really like the idea, it's simple but it works well and allows some interesting level design. But the jumping physics kills the fun :( A proper jump and bug free collisions would make this game much more enjoyable.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:06am

Collision is a little off, if I'm running into a wall I can't jump. A lot of the puzzle solving was more pinpoint timing rather than actual puzzle solving. This was fun for a little bit but quickly grew old as I had to keep retrying levels over and over again even though I had figured out the puzzle aspect. That combined with the glitchy collision and what felt like an oversized collision box definitely detracted from the game. My only other criticism is that some music would've been nice.

Other than that though, this game was actually a lot of fun. Kind of reminded me of a platforming version of "chip's challenge" from the win95 entertainment pack, if you've ever played that. The levels are pretty well designed (except for my previous criticisms). What at first seems like a really obvious way to clear the level isn't always how you have to do it. This is especially true with the level that had the guy trapped in the red box in the upper right. I hope you make more levels for this :)

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:09am

Also, I have to disagree with the jumping physics criticisms, I think the jumping is fine. It's a very tight jump which makes for harder platforming mechanics, but in a good way.

Robrock55 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:03pm

funny game, strange jumps, but good game.

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:22pm

It's an ok jump motion but the character doesn't actually land where it looks like he lands, his legs are way out in front but he actually lands quite far back. Aside from the collisions with the walls being wrong, the zombie's hitboax is also too tall. he can get to from at least half your height above your head. Apart from that it's a really neat game, and I like the main character's design :) Don't see enough skinny characters. sort of reminds me of swords and sorcery.

Alphonsus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Thanks everyone especially Fritzendugan and BrothersT for taking the time to write these constructive criticisms. I will definitely take them into account when I start on improving the game. :)

kannas says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice game. the enemy is a bit too difficult to avoid though, so the levels with them are a bit frustratig. Good work in any case ;)

paulopn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:12am

Fun idea, but that zombie is horribly difficult to avoid. It seems to me that it's collision box is a little too big, you could try making it just slightly smaller than the zombie =D And make it slower too, please... I can't beat level 8 no matter how many times I try...
Did you use libgdx?

Andy West says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:26am

Really nice! The collision is a little funky, but it doesn't detract from the game too much.

Alphonsus says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:30am

@paulopn Thanks for the suggestions! And nope, I use Slick2D.

TenTonToon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:14am

Well, a lot has already been said about this game, but how come nobody's commented on its biggest asset, yet? The mime, people! The mime! :D A game in which you control a mime gets extra points and a hand-made wool scarf. That's a well known fact.

The concept is interesting, although I find it more simple than minimalistic, even if gameplay mechanics are kept to a bare minimum, as they should. The graphics, aside from the hilarious mime (love that walk cycle, mate!), are functional and easy on the eyes; maybe a little too functional, as there's a disconnection between the characters, richly drawn, and the bare-bones levels.
Too bad about the control issues, but what do we expect from a 48h-72h development? Yeah, been there, broke that :)

And yes, level 8 is frigging hard! ;)

The fact of the matter is that with a little polish and adding some more levels you'd have a very nice, very fun game on your hands.

Congratulations!

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Fun game and great art. Mimes...

KEFIR says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Dropbox 404.
Noooo. I'll check later.

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Liked the art style, well done. :)

Alphonsus says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:42pm

@KEFIR,
Sorry about that. It's working now. :D

KEFIR says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Yeah! Now it works! Really cool concept and nice graphics! I stuck on 9th level.. But I'll try again :) I hope you will continue development, fix all glitches and add some sounds and music. It's gonna be really good game!

Oye Beto says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:51am

- It's fun :) I liked the level design
- You should keep working on the post-compo version
- The jump physics are a little awkward.
- The theme is weird xD (mime with zombies) and not very minimalistic :P

May 20, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Solid entry! Neat puzzle game and a lot you can do with it. Smooth out the movement/collision/jumping and keep working on it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]