April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Secret Power

by CollabGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I took one or two lines of code from my previous game because I forgot them no more so surely that's allowed? O.o

Controls are in help!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#653Audio2.53
#1002Humor1.58
#1194Mood2.00
#1210Graphics2.11
#1295Fun1.82
#1327Innovation1.69
#1330Overall1.95
#1341Theme2.11

Comments

Fruitzcinema says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Looks good, going to be a good game :)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

The use of sound positioning is a nice touch, though out of place, since the gun sound should be from where it originates :)

Seems I hit some invisible walls.

CollabGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:18pm

^ Yup i was truely stuck on the invisible walls :/ Thank's for feedback though :)

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I got stuck on invisible walls as well.

Am I missing something or is this game basically just a chase around a block maze with infinitely-spawning enemies that don't do any damage and really have no consequences or reward from doing anything?

Shigor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Invisible walls in the "maze", monsters spawning around me without actually doing anything, same seems to go for the shooting... after finding a hole black screen with In Progress without anything else.
With the exception of the music very weak entry, one of the weakest I've yet seen.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Kinda short, but I'd love to see more!

CollabGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Yeah, I had 8 hours to do it all and i aimed for something bit bigger then i could handle in that. The invisible walls are beyond me they shouldn't happen at all. The monsters spawn when walking into tree's (on purpose) gun mechanic is fine? O.o

And i was going to carry this on and try fix errors and add more (like health, rewards, unlocks etc) would you like to see it carried on?

jayemjee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I was able to walk out of the house, but then the game would crash when my friend came to talk to me.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Interesting game! The shooting gameplay is difficult and there is a glitch if you go back, but I like it!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:09pm

There were a few collision errors, but I think it has potential to be great with a few adjustments to the controls :P

john_conder9 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:35pm

First play through I got stuck in between two blocks and had to start over, and then second time round I made it to the hole and got stuck on a "in progress" screen - I'm asssssummmiinnng this is where the game ends? Cool concept, some problems with collisions as have been noted (and getting stuck :P) but pretty cool. With some more work this might be an interesting story. So we can all make change to the world :P

dalbinblue says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Did have trouble with collision detection and hit invisible walls. As a suggestion, make the collision box for the player only the bottom half of the sprite, then collision and moving around (especially in the smaller sections) feel much more natural.

drkrunk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I liked it, has great potential for becoming a good game. Like everyone else, had some collision errors.

TenTonToon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:05am

When I clicked on the download link I got this error: "File Belongs to Non-Validated Account."

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:36am

Same problem as TenTonToon. "File Belongs to Non-Validated Account. The resource you are trying access belongs to an account that has not yet been validated."

Szedouu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:41pm

short , great , minimalistic, love it!

paulopn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:42am

I can't download it D=

May 12, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Unfortunately I can't rate this one since it's Windows only.

CollabGames says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Fixed the non-validated account problem for those not in UK :) Thanks for feedback!

notepid says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Had some trouble playing it. Since it brought up dialog boxes with "Ok", I kept pressing enter which was also interaction. Eventually I got a crash saying:

ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event
for object obj_dooropen:

Error in code at line 8:
if place_meeting(obj_player.x,obj_player.y,obj_mum)
^
at position 34: Unknown variable x

CollabGames says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

@notepid Of course, stupid me. I previously was trying to use interact the talk to the mum but it was inaccurate it testing where the player was.

I left the interact button inside the game.

Sorry :/

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Fullscreen :( Also don't take the control from the player without making it clear to them. Clipping isn't that good - I stucked on walls. Space isn't always shoots. This renders it unplayable to me.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]