April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Click, Release

by @SamPotasz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist game which I really enjoyed making.

I don't really want to say too much about it other than thanks for checking it out and playing it. I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#98Innovation3.83
#183Audio3.34
#224Theme3.90
#252Mood3.27
#479Overall3.24
#496Fun3.05
#679Humor2.06
#1040Graphics2.38

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

What a strange, lovely and original game

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I don't know what exactly it was, but I really enjoyed it!

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

That was a pretty interesting game.

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

What a nice game! I've spend a lot of time creating circles and listening to the music that it creates. Thumbs up.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

A super unique game. Very fun.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Very original, i enjoyed it, overall really nice!

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Thanks so much for the kind words, ya'll! I'm happy you enjoyed it, and I'm just getting through enjoying all of your games, too :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Interesting. Neat how you have to kinda figure out what the goal is at any given time.

I admit that I resorted to just fast clicking a lot rather than holding and aiming.

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Love this game! Great to play a complete, long game with an interesting concept!

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Thanks, cosine and jarcas! Fast clicking is totally cool :) Who am I to tell you how to make art??

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I enjoyed this a lot - loved all the floaty audio, it was a very relaxing experience!

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

this was pretty cool. i really like how it made different tones to make music. the sound was a little hard on the ears, but if you took the same code and somehow made the sound softer, it'd sound really nice.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

very original!, but the bell sounds get annoying after a while hehe, but very good game

minibutmany says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

This is really original and cool. Great big 5 stars in the Mood category. This is one of those games that gives you a mysterious feeling of happiness.

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Very original, it reminds me of Windows 3.11 games :). It's pointless, yet one can hardly stop playing yet until there's nothing else , so I take that as a metaphor of my life in general.

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Has the zen quality to it. I didn't play too long, but the sounds and simple interaction of directing the balls where I would want them to go - that was enough to keep me hanged there in the middle. Good job man!

baldwinthree says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:49am

Extremely entertaining. I loved the audio, but I wish there was some way to know what pitch it was going to be on release (higher pitch for earlier release or something). Also, the box physics were confusing... but no matter! Cool make!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:52am

Unique and most importantly fun while staying true to the theme. Really enjoyed it!

saampahlavan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Pretty interesting Sam. I wish the game taught me a little more about what was going on at the beginning. Nice chimes

nseward says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I loved the release mechanic. Great job. Dynamic music! (6 stars) Fantastic.

kannas says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Lovely game, it was fun. It's a shame there was just one instrument :(

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:52pm

You know, normally I would have just copy n pasted the "I don't have Windows" thing. But since you've been cool on Twitter, you get a special story.

Me and Windows, we have a long story. We don't like each other particularly well. It said things about my mom, I threw stuff at it, etc.
In the end, we decided to part ways. It think it was better for both us. I mean, its getting old and ugly, and it's constantly bitching about things. But I'm rambling...

Ah, the old days.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I don't really understand purpose, meaning and what you really wanted to express. Nonetheless, the experience was engaging.
I must confess I did not finish the game but I played it for quite a while. There were times I got myself just playing around with the sounds.
Cool!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I liked the audio complement to the mechanic!

Hayawi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:09am

It looks like it has great potential to be a really good mobile game

May 8, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Interesting gameplay. I noticed if I clicked before the map changed, and released, a ball would be spawned, but it wasn't viable before it started to move. Perhaps reset the check for a mouse click on map change.

Spiridios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:25am

Interesting. Not sure why sometimes blocks disappeared and sometimes not, or why sometimes my balls would bounce off or sometimes plow right through. And I wasn't 100% sure what made the goal appear. But enjoyed it none-the-less. Great audio, interesting controls.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I liked the idea and it works pretty well. I kind of felt, though, that I wasn't sure why things happened and thus I was sort of clicking around. Were there goals? Just a time limit? As a toy, I enjoyed it. As a game, though, I felt a bit annoyed. I just wasn't sure which it was trying to be.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Hey everybody- thought I'd chime in again right before voting ends :) First off, thank you all so much for taking the time to play the game and leave me a note! Seriously, it's great to see that people are enjoying the game.

Additionally, it's great to see that people are somewhat challenged by the game. When I was looking at minimalist art right after the theme was announced, that was certainly one of the feelings that struck me. I wasn't quite sure what was going on, and that drew me into the pieces even more. So hopefully you too can "sit" with this weirdness in Click, Release, and it draws you further in to its world.

For more (less rambly) thoughts on this- check out my post-mortem over here: http://www.sampotasz.com/blog/clickreleasedesign/

Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]