April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Back to basics TD

by techmonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry and second game that I've taken from start to finish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#731Fun2.79
#1032Humor1.47
#1045Overall2.68
#1053Theme2.96
#1235Mood1.80
#1284Graphics1.93
#1340Innovation1.46
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Really really addictive, good work!

TinyGolem says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Nice little TD game :)

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Good Game!

errorage says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

This is a simple and fun game. I lost to wave 21.

kivifreak says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:40pm

More fun than i thought :P
At the start set bombers and at the end arrow towers?

JonRB says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Certainly an excellent TD game.
I've played worse 'professional' ones.

Overv says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:13pm

It's amazing to see how basic you can make a TD game without taking the fun away! Awesome :)

funkbob says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

nice game, the difficulty curve is good. I was oln about lvl 28 and sat back to sup a beer watching them all die, 2 waves later they were getting through. I don't play these type of games normally but this was fun.

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Great job !

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

A really solid TD game, I managed to get to wave 46 with almost a full map of arrow towers. I wonder what the theoretical max wave is.

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

It's procedurally generated with a component on based on level^3, so it will eventually overwhelm you but I'm unsure of the maximum achievable level.

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Simple TD huh, not very innovating but minimalistic :)

GamingYourWay says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

That was great!
TD stripped down to the basics, and it works so well, which was surprising.

Dew says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58am

Great TD game!! i made a TD too a little bit different you should try it out ;). How many rounds im at 39 atm!

mortl8324 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:29am

Very fun game. Really enjoyed it.

Tater_hater says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Really hard, but really fun

May 12, 2013 @ 1:22pm

A very simple TD game. Perhaps a bit too simplified though, upgraded units don't look different than level 1 units, so you have to keep track mentally of what you have upgraded. The first wave should have a countdown, instead f starting once you place your first weapon. A good start though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]