April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

28 Pixels

by TobiasL - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My First Ludum Dare entry :)

CONTROLS:
Use the arrow keys to move left and right.
Press M to mute sound.

TOOLS USED:
Unity3d
Photoshop
Audacity
Otomata - Online Generative Musical Sequencer

/Tobias Lindstrom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#95Theme4.11
#242Humor2.78
#251Overall3.49
#261Fun3.33
#320Graphics3.39
#346Audio3.05
#352Innovation3.39
#490Mood2.97

Comments

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

This was really cool, and I wasn't expecting it.

Polar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Really nice game, loved your take on Minimalism :) My only issue was it took me a few goes to work out what to do, but after that it was a great game :)

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Good concept. Wonderful realization.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Great stuff ;)

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

LCD power! You are the HUD genius.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

VERY awesome! Great work :)

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

The behavior of the squares doesn't make sense. Sometimes it changes the colour, sometimes it kills you.

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Haha x)

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17am

Great little game. For those who can't figure out the behavior: green = good, red = bad, blue = flip the colors.

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

Really enjoyed this (once I figured how to get it going and then sorted out the rules on my own.) Unfortunately for the certain type of color blind, those red/green squares are gonna be impossible to tell apart. Great work on the visual aesthetics of the game too!

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

Classic gameplay with a nerdy look!

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

ah... green go... red stop... i must be getting old.. once I got that... well...
loved the setup, and the game got really fun as it speeds up. the art just works, and hit the theme perfect. good work!
(don't see otomata used nearly as much as it seems it should in this compo... my first two ld entries were all about that program :) )

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very cool idea! My best score so far is 260. Fun game :)

HeyChinaski says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Great fun. Very creative and the gameplay was well balanced. Very replayable.

May 3, 2013 @ 6:56am

Fantastic visuals, style and audio. Loved it. Had to read the comments to understand the block types. Should explain that in game, actually. pretty fun but seems like it ramped up to impossible speed very quickly. 355 pts here. really liked the calculator display style.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:48am

Cool game! I like how it feels like it's on a calculator.

Ty Taylor says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:49am

That was super cool, absolutely loved it!

May 9, 2013 @ 8:02am

That's some neat presentation you have here, with the photos. Good thinking there. :)

While it was initially confusing, I did actually figure out the gameplay pretty quickly. The mechanic was simple but fun.

Sestren says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:17am

The audio, while very simple, adds a lot to the tension after the speed really picks up.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:27am

This game was surprisingly stressful oO. Too bad there's no easter egg when we press one of the calculator button :0)

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:20am

I was pleasantly surprised. Cool game and intro screen!

mildmojo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Since it's Unity, could you post a standalone Linux build? There's no webplayer for Linux. =(

Infin8 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:59am

Great Stuff. Reminds me that good game design needs little explanation.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:30am

not sure if that was brilliant -- or insane -- i think i will go with brilliant

onzephyr says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Awesome esthetic! Simple and fun gameplay. Pretty much hit the nail on the head in every category, with it all relating to the theme. Great Game.

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:56pm

410 pts and I see the world in three colors. Good mechanic :).

BradleySmith says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:56am

Really neat idea, level progression is fairly well designed for 48 hours too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]