April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shape World

by Jan.M - Jam Entry

Hello There,

This is Shape World. A traditional platformer built from minimalistic geometric shapes.

Control:
Arrows keys or WASD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#240Theme(Jam)3.36
#367Audio(Jam)2.43
#372Fun(Jam)2.65
#393Mood(Jam)2.56
#453Graphics(Jam)2.50
#473Overall(Jam)2.59
#475Innovation(Jam)2.24
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Is there an executable / web version? Or do we have to compiler the source?

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

Nice! Well done.

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Good work.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Good work. The only thing to improve I would say is the sound. It was kind of not fitting. To sharp... But over all i liked it!

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Pretty cool - would've liked to have seen the pixelly graphics from the titles continued into the player and level sprites.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

I like the miniminalistic graphics and colors. Good control too. Good job !

Jan.M says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:04pm

We are not happy about the font in the ingame neither. But we were running out of time, and therefore couldn't change it.
Did you manage to find the extra levels? ;) Some of them are hidden quite well. And don't forget: Not everytginh that looks like a wall is so.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:08am

Nice little game!

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:10am

Pros: good, simple and easy to pick up.
Cons: some jumps in concealed spaces are tricky.

simrob says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:56pm

A little bit of glichiness with how landing and standing on things work, and I feel like the puzzle possibilities of the color-changing diamond and the colored lava or whatever weren't really explored as much as I would have liked. But excellent use of the theme and a pretty game!

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice platformer. I like the sound and the music. The mechanics with the colores were nicely done. Great work!

hissssssssss says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:39am

The collision detection was a bit wonky, and the shape being a diamond didn't help that, as fun as it was to jump around as a diamond. Still, you had an impressive number of levels and a variety of level styles. Nice job.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Creative game, and I like the way it looks.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]