April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinimalJump

by Xatulu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game has some miner issues with collision detection, i will try to be better next time.

It's a simple 2D-side scrolling lybrinth. Even if you often end up stuck, don't fret. There is a portal out of that hell hole. Even if it will take forever to find it.

Sorry for the Try again holes..
Uploaded a map for those who want to avoid those.

Regarding Mac Os X problems:
Just tested with latest OsX + latest Java version, running smoothly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#477Humor2.34
#487Audio2.81
#530Graphics3.06
#827Theme3.26
#889Mood2.55
#1045Overall2.68
#1101Fun2.32
#1271Innovation1.95

Comments

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

Great visuals, and made me rage quite a bit. Nice one!

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

Graphics look cool! Cant' rate because I couldn't get it to work on my Mac :/ Sorry!

Awennor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

Interesting game! I actually managed to play it on a Mac! Good job, overall!

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43am

Game was pretty smooth, jumping mechanics were quite annoying (jumping+right = getting stuck in next tile). The gameplay was very annoying when getting stuck at any wrong turn.

Overall it's solid, I liked the music.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

hey, great graphics and music. I think it might be better if there wasn't these raging holes.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

the jumping needed more work i think. looks and sounds ace though!

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

For an exploratory platformer, the Try Again areas kill the flow.

Mousseto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44am

Graphics and music are great! Maybe just too much bored when i get stuck.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

Hey guys, thanks for the feedback!
Yeah, i probably should have taken another approach for level design, and my collision detection is abmyssal, maybe i will improve it by adding a phys2d engine in the aftermath!

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Can't seem to get the mac one running. Did you export as a runnable jar? "Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/xatulu/LudumDare/LudumDare : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0"

LACrackers says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Yes, but i will try again later today on my mac, haven't been able to test it on Linux and Mac Os X as of now, though that errors seems like your Java version is older then the one required.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:16pm

The art stuffs are creative. The jump is a little buggy... sometimes you can't jump while touching wall

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

It's like a handbook of dirty tricks. Dead ends, invisible platforms... post a map :-)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Added the Map as screenshot

dstozek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

These "try agains" are really annoying! But it's satisfying overall

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Liked the graphics. I see what you mean by collision detection problems, but still a good game.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Dead ends :(

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I love the graphics!

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01pm

The graphics, sound and difficulty are very awesome!.

Nice game, congratz!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Simple fun platformer, sticky walls when jumping and dead ends hurt, but enjoyed exploring the maze.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Like the sparse visuals, the collision detection bugs were a little annoying =D Potato!

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Good work! Agreed that the game would be simpler & better w/out the dead ends, but I love the music :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

How can a game look this cute and be so mean? :)
Love the music.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

The effort in visuals and audio is definitely appreciated. I also had some fun with it, but yes, the collision detection issues and the trial and error gameplay lead to diminishing the result. I feel if you tackled this again, maybe added some mechanic to the gameplay to spice it up, and of course work a bit on design and collisions, this could be a fun time. Good job on your first self-made game effort, though!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27pm

I love the movement, but as you also say the collision is a bit of. But it is a awesome platform game :D

Mago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Simple but fun game. I realy liked minimal grafic and music is very neat. Great job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Few problems aside, it stays true to the theme quite admirably!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Nice graphics and I love the music, but the jumping needed work. Maybe instead of needing to push the jump key, you could auto-jump if jump is held down?

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

A bit frustrating and the gameplay could be refined a bit, so keep working on it. I like the graphics! :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

It's nice, only problem is you can't always jump when facing a wall !

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25pm

@FuzzyWuzzie: Yeah, the whole physics and controls need work, those will be the next parts i'm tackling.

@Tonic: Will do, currently rewriting it so it doesn't use Slick (see my Journal)

Thanks for the input guys!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Nice little platformer, you can't jump if you have a block just in front of you. Even if the theme was minimalist, adding some bonus to collect like coins would have made the game better imho.

Yakyb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45pm

enjoyed this, despite some annoying collision bugs had a very nice feel to it

Test User says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

The collision detection did make it a little tedious to jump around, but besides that, it was fun running around the maze.

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Potato <3
Nice graphics.
Did run good on Mac 10.7.5

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

It'd be nice if it had a button for restarting, instead of just saying it on the wall, and the jump physics felt a bit like you only set a constant velocity up and then down, rather than using acceleration?

But those are minor qualms, overall it's a cool game, really fits the theme. Nice one.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

@Alex Rose: Well you can Press F10 (not on mac thou, OsX kills that..), but yeah, adding a permanent OnScreen Button might me nice.

And yeah, thats what i did, i didn't have more time for proper physics, will be in the game in a later stage! Thanks for the input!

Shugor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I found that the graphics and music were pretty nice, but as others have previously said, dead ends and difficulty jumping when too close to a block killed the mood. By the way, that is a nice potato.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Gameplay is quite sticky. I enjoy the concept and the audio. The 'try again' pits are infuriating though :P

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

Nice graphics and huge work on level design. Too bad controls are so awful. Sometimes you can't jump even if there isn't any obstacle over your head. Whatever it's a great job :)

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Very frustrating when you reach a dead end and have to restart from the beginning. I like the simple visual style.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

The dead ends are frustrating. Also one cannot jump while next to a tile.

Good job though. The graphics are nice!

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36pm

The "try again" part was rather frustrating and the controls were a little bit difficult but overall nice platformer

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Haha, nasty game! I like it. I think because I pretty much made it to the end first time, despite the huge level.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Like the unique look to this game and the memorization mechanic is clever, nice job!

Kiwiboi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Yes the collision is quite a problem but other than that it's pretty enjoyable! :D The music is great and it fits the theme well! :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Cool game dude. Congratz!

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:36am

Hit collision is terrible. Running into a wall and jumping flat out stops your vertical movement dead and it shouldn't, it feels pretty unnatural that way. However there's a lot of content in this and the gameplay was otherwise pretty damn nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]