April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Beyond Sprites

by c0r73x - Jam Entry

Welcome to Beyond Sprites

Use the arrow keys to move and space to shoot (Also works with gamepad, tested on XBOX 360 Controller on both GNU/Linux and Windows).

We have repacked the files so that the windows version only contains the windows binary, you still need to install openal to run the game (http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip)

For the GNU/Linux version the dependecies are:
OpenGL
GLFW
OpenAL
ALUT
Assimp

For more info please see the README file.

We hope you enjoy our game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#291Graphics(Jam)3.11
#328Fun(Jam)2.75
#342Audio(Jam)2.65
#371Humor(Jam)1.72
#413Mood(Jam)2.48
#426Overall(Jam)2.75
#516Innovation(Jam)2.00
#541Theme(Jam)2.21
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Fredrik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

we forgot to mention that this technically should work just fine on osx if you compile it from the sources but since neither of us have a mac its not something we tested.

c0r73x says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

If it does not start on windows and gives an error saying "openal32.dll" missing, you need to install OpenAL that can be found here. http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Can't play, don't have windows :(

c0r73x says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

For GNU/Linux you will have to compile the code. The dependencies are listed in the README file.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I like this game, although it's weird when I can outrun my own shots. I am not sure how this fits the theme at all, though.

c0r73x says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

rainblade studios: Give me a moment and I will repack the files into Windows binaries, Linux binaries and source.

zairon: Yeah the level 0 shots are very slow, but they get faster when you get higher level.

c0r73x says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I've repacked the files. Hopefully things will work better :)

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

There's no way I won't like a shooter.;)

But it was really laggy on my computer, and that made controlling the ship almost impossible. >_<

If it weren't for that, it would have been quite fun. ^^

c0r73x says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

Fixed a typo in the Windows version that prevented attackspeed from reseting when restarting the game.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Good entry. I pretty loved the art :)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Yeah, nice game! I found it a bit hard to destroy the enemies. Argh,...damn supperior alien tech :D Well, done!

daubers says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Fun game, really liked the cubey stars floating past. Shots where a little slow making the game quite hard!

Didn't seem to exit cleanly (left a dos window playing music behind)

c0r73x says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:54am

Yeah, sorry I forgot to add the shutdown code for GLFW. Just kill that window and all will be well :)

About the slow shots, maybe the "power 0" shots are abit slow, but it's a score hunt game, it shouldn't be easy :P

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:02am

The game was quite nice. I had the feeling, enemys/obstacles were a bit too fast, or the gun wasn't powerful enough. I like the parallax scrolling on the background.

myachin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:07am

cant play. missing openal???.dll

lanz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:15am

Win8/x64, can't run .(
"Failed to find any usable GLFWFBConfigs
Unable to find a usable pixel format
Failed to create GLFW window
ohnos glfw pooped"

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:45am

misssing openall dll :-( zip it in the packet!

c0r73x says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:27am

I'm sorry but when we packed the OpenAL in the zip file there was a problem with the 64 and 32 bit versons. But I wrote in the note and in the READ med that "You still need to install openal to run the game (http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip)"

c0r73x says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:27am

lanz: I'm sorry, we havn't tested the game on Win8. And since none of us run Win8 we can't test it. Have you tried to run it in compability mode?

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Game did not start (32bit Linux Mint 12)

shawn42 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43am

Fun game. The shots felt a little underpowered. I liked how fast the object came at me; definitely made it more challenging. Overall nice work.

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Enjoyable little shooter! Has a lot of character to it, but I'm not sure I was any good at it. At first it seemed too easy to kill the guys, and then it got too hard so I just ended up side-lining it and holding down space while trying to dodge boulders. At some point I thought I was seeing cherries so I tried to start collecting them and then I died. Moral of the story? Cherries don't grow in outer-space, those were bullets. :(

c0r73x says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:21am

Hehe I'm glad you guys like our game. Maybe we should have explained the powerups to make it abit easier for you.

Blue powerup: Shield boost, gives +10% shield
Red powerup: Power amplifier (+1 POWER) this will increase your damage, attackspeed and type of damage. (At MAX level this gives HP)
Green bomb: kills everything at the screen (but be aware, this might have unwanted consequences) ;)
Red bomb: This bomb will remove your shield, avoid at any time.

Also, shields only works against laser damage, if you run into things your Hull/Health will take damage and shields will be ignored.

I hope this helps :)

May 6, 2013 @ 5:16am

I couldn't seem to get the game working with my XBOX 360 controller for some reason. :/

Other than that it's quite a fun game, enjoyed the explosions! ;D

dalbinblue says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:35am

The game has promise but the player shots are really slow and weak, so I would have to absorb a good amount of enemy shots to get enough in to kill an enemy. I did better just dodging enemies and shooting asteroids for points.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Good job guys! I enjoyed playing this entry! A little tough for me as I'm not used to shmups but enjoyable just the same. Liked the music and the graphics, especially the explosions.

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I think the game would work better with faster shot for hero and slower for ennemies. It's not about the fact the the game is hard, but I think the player would have more fun time trying to avoid bullets rather than a shield and health status to take blows. Those sinusoid moves on some enemies are also too fast. It's impossible to catch them with a bullet that take 3 seconds to go across the screen. Apart of that I like those asteroids particles when they explodes and also the very cool & retro-colored font :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]