April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Silent

by TheMrDakotaWood - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys,
This is my first Ludum Dare and my first completed game that I programmed from scratch. In the game, the player must escape from the darkness threatening to swallow him up by collecting Light Orbs to repel it. You die if the darkness reaches you :) The map is 100% randomly generated, and the grid that the rooms are generated onto is 63x63, which means that you can get more than 4000 rooms! (Although that's highly unlikely) This is what jumped into my head when I hear the theme, because it is a very minimalistic art style; minimal colours and gameplay. I also got the idea from minimalistic interior design, since the rooms themselves are very bare and often empty.

NOTE: There are a few known bugs, such as occasionally the Title and Death screens are rendered intersecting with the walls and floor, and that the map generation will sometimes spawn a very small number of rooms. This can easily be remedied by restarting the game (Tab out of the game any way you like and close the console window, and then launch it again)

NOTE 2: Mediafire is being a pain and keeps saying that the download won't work. Don't worry though, just hit restart on the page or wait for the countdown and it should work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Mood3.73
#759Theme3.33
#882Overall2.87
#957Graphics2.53
#1054Fun2.40
#1153Innovation2.20
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

At first controls are really weird but we get used to it. Good contrast between the main music and the darkness around !

Mousseto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Great sound and graphics, i had a peoblem with the end screen, i could see only half of it.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Really great mood, I was scared when playing this, I was expecting jumpscares.

Game got old really quickly though :( Not much to do.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

really cool and atmospheric!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

Loved the atmosphere, though I thought that I'd run into Slenderman sometimes :). My first run gave me two rooms to play, and I as like "what the heck"? :)

dapierce says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:01am

The first game was with a 4 room area and then I restarted it and got a much larger world. Was playing with headphones on and I have to admit, I was getting a little freaked out. Great music and mood.

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:02am

really cool! great job!

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:22am

Mediafire didn't like me. It just kept giving an error "There is a problem with your download"

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Nice game, good dense atmosphere! A +1 for c++ from scratch! Good job!

KEFIR says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:54pm

It would be great to have in-game instructions for this game.. Maybe something wrong with my controls? I didn't find how to collect these light orbs.. Also I didn't find the way to shut down the application.. just by pressing Alt+Tab and closing it from taskbar..
But visuals and sound makes it really creepy expirience :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Spooky and droning music had me hustling for the orbs. I did not see the endgame... Rooms generate with a door outside the geometry sometimes... Atmospheric!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]