April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Telekinetic Minimalist Cult 5: Packrat Nightmare

by RobotLovesKitty - Jam Entry

In a struggle to find your identity, you have joined the Hippest Cult of Minimalists. It has granted you the ability to move objects with your mind... but there is trouble!

The cult is coming to inspect your home
and collect your membership fee. You must get rid of as much stuff in your house as possible before they arrive!


Sell things to pedestrians, and watch out for cops while you dump your items in the woods or in the street!

Good Luck!

Z = Pickup
Space = Throw
X = Sell
Arrows = Move

:D this is our first Ludum Dare Jam! We had a blast, hope you enjoy our crazy game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Humor(Jam)4.26
#16Audio(Jam)4.06
#52Graphics(Jam)4.15
#68Overall(Jam)3.70
#70Innovation(Jam)3.64
#129Fun(Jam)3.30
#149Mood(Jam)3.37
#240Theme(Jam)3.36
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

That was great!! I loved the recorded singing and sounds, and the overall humor of it! Very innovative and on-topic!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

WOW. I love the visuals, and the premise and gameplay are hilarious. Fantastic work.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:47pm

This is hilarious.

tnovelli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

gah, Unity... sounds funny though :)

JoeDev_net says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50pm

I really liked how it looked, but it was difficult to figure out what to do. I played for quite a while sucking things up and shooting(?) them out.

The art was really nice and I can tell you spent time on the sound effects (each individual person had there own things that they would be mumbling), but perhaps it would be helpful to explain the gameplay a little so that the player isn't so lost.

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

This game has a ton of potential. I would have rated it higher, but I think it could use more polish. There's no way to avoid the cops, the objects get in the way of movement, and I haven't quite figured out the parameters of selling objects. Hilarious though, especially the voices.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Fantastic game! The sound track is awesome and I really loved the visual style.

Darn cars are quick!

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

This is hilarious.

I've been laughing literally for minutes.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Great one :D Your music and sound effects are just awesome (all the people talking and the viking girl, hilarious). I totally got hit by a car on my first try... And: The game is quite challanging, the police is always getting me!

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

This was great. I liked your take on the theme. Very silly, but very fun. The controls were a bit choppy. It would have been nice if there were a way to skip the opening (because I had to restart a few times). Nice job overall!

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

I like yours interpretation of the theme, not to mention the funny sounds and great graphics.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Crazy audio :) love it!

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

I loved how it looked and loved even more how it sounded. What a great concept for a game too. love love. great work.

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

Love the style, the audio and character animation especially. Gameplay a bit lacking.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Awesome - excellent look and feel, and the audio is perfect. Especially that kid with the airplane.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

Pretty fantastic.

ignifluous says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

Best. Intro.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40am

Really cool some funny stuff in there and although a bit glitchy it was still fun to play. Really nice game and concept good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45am

Funny game! A little too difficult to sell and control though.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

Nice game, graphics are excellent and voices were very funny

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

Really snazzy little game! I also liked the ending soundtrack. It's a pretty neat idea and I can see the minimalism. Good Job!

KoryWazHere says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49am

BEST GAME EVERERERERER!!

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

Very nice game, funny, impressive for 48 hours and best/funny audio from all I tried so far.
Though little bit lacking on "gameplay" side.

Shigor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Hillarious and funny, although controls are just a bit too strange (character doesn't responds very well, even without any items) and resulting gameplay is mostly chaotic.

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I like the slight humor over everything that make it fun. The realisation is great, but i have some trouble understanding how to sell and why policemen chase me.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Really nice game :) And funny ^^

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Funny! It was fun throwing all of my stuff in the street and watching cars run into it, but I never had any success selling objects? So only got to see losing endings!

Zemmi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Hilarious :D It would be cool it you could throw stuff at police to try and fend them off(maybe you could, I don't think I ever succeeded though) or be able to toss things out of windows on the second floor. Could be bombing your possessions off the top floor at a stream of cops piling up at the door. Loved it, so glad I could play in the street.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Love the opening, especially the cat. This game is hilarious in a very strange way... not many games have getting a bed down the stairs as a problem. Breakin the Larrw

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:45am

BREKKIN THE LAAAW. I loved this game, even though I found it impossible to play :P It was always unclear what you could sell and what you couldn't. on my last attempt I when in and out with about 5 different loads of stuff and only managed to sell like 1 thing. I got arrested every time too :( Really fun nonetheless :)

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice sound effects.

May 5, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice job... i like ... all the tools of a good game is there... humor, fun, music, graphic ... all is there :)

Floko says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:37am

Hilarious! From the opening screen to the death! I'll get 5 stars on fun and graphics for sure.

I didn't understand the logic for selling very well though..

I really liked the visuals, so i'm hoping to see more of this game in the future!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:13am

that was so cool -- great job!

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:54am

Very odd game. Seems pretty well made. Nice style too.

I couldnt seem to sell stuff very often and after I died at one stage, I respawned carrying duplicate items.

Nice work.

Misael.K says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Both silly and fun. And hard! The little sounds are great.

allinlabs says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Minimalist, Ho!

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:45pm

That was a lot of fun to play! Great audio, very funny. I wasn't very successful unfortunately, first time I was killed, second time ended up in jail.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:18am

This game rocks, it has everything including great style. I just regret those cops I really can't avoid. Once you get one stuff out they keep coming until you die. Maybe removing the object you have been punished for would make the game more playable. The mix 2D and 3D sprites is really perfectly executed. The game look remind me a crossing between Katamari and Parappa the raper. I think I never gave so much sta

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:20am

... so much stars on a game for a ludum dare rating. This is an outstanding entry.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Good game. Congrats!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:54am

I can't understand this at all, but it is funny.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]