April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OptiWars

by therealeek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Real time strategy, object of the game is to complete your mission with as few units as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#987Innovation2.50
#1015Fun2.45
#1056Overall2.67
#1092Theme2.90
#1095Graphics2.30
#1162Mood2.13
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

That was fun...and challenging.
I really liked the idea and the execution is also good. It really needs a way to select multiple units though...
Also, some cover would help a lot on the difficulty.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Cool. I agree that multiple-select would be great - also maybe randomise (or add a few variations of) the enemy formation each time perhaps?

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

Hi, it was nice but I think you should boost the AI a little. For the moment you can crush the whole army with the missile launcher and only other missile launchers will fight back.
Nice work anyway :)

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:34am

The concept is good, but diminished by the lack of balance: I've beaten the game with a single rocket tank (or whatever it actually is).

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:06pm

This is a pretty cool idea. Have you thought about having the units play out the battle without any player intervention like in Gratuitous Space Battles? Could make an interesting puzzle/strategy game!

ZYXer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:49am

Really like the idea. Reminds me of the original C&C games. The rocket launcher are a bit OP, though ;)

Tater_hater says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Pretty fun/new style of RTS

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Pretty cool, though I agree that it needs some balance in regards to the missile launcher. I was able to score 24 by using just 3 missile launchers to take the whole map.

m64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Overall a very nice game, high production level for such a time scale. Unfortunately it is easy to exploit AI weakness by buying a single rocket launcher and using it to take down everything (except for the enemy launchers) from long distance.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Neat game. agree it needs a way to select multiple units.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

select one unit at a time made the game too hard also -- nice effort

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]