April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ma Mini Slim

by LaceySnr - Jam Entry

So I built this using Unity3D, and I'm entering the Jam because I've not added a finish/game over screen yet and don't have any audio, and I used an existing skybox which I think breaks the compo rules...

The Game:

You play Ma Mini Slim, a robot who needs to get to green goal things for some reason.

Minimalism plays a part in terms of player feedback: as you move faster Ma Mini Slim fades out to be completely invisible making the game that bit more challenging.


Aim of the game:

Collect red pils to score points, reach the green whily goal things. Avoid falling off to prevent score loss.


Collectables:

Red capsules are worth 100 points

Blue capsules are spawn points, after collecting one you'll start from there if you fall off the map.

Green capsules add SuperSparkles to Ma Mini Slim's roller ball, allowing you to see where you're going when moving fast.


Not done yet:

- Final score
- Audio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#347Fun(Jam)2.71
#359Overall(Jam)2.90
#403Humor(Jam)1.53
#457Innovation(Jam)2.32
#470Theme(Jam)2.60
#488Mood(Jam)2.13

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Neat idea.. The player is fast and very hard to control made it fun and challenging

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Fun! Feels like Monkey Ball hard mode. Would like to see some instructions in game and audio. Bonus points for the quick load in Unity (several Unity games have taken minutes to load for me). Nice take on the theme.

LaceySnr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Thanks guys! I did want to make it hard because games are too easy these days, but I'm not sure about the level design. The long jump level is my fave because it really plays on the mechanic. Next jam entry will have audio for sure!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:51am

Loved the graphics. I understand what is said about difficult and I do agree but it should start a bit easier in my opinion. Nice job!

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

I actually think it starts off a bit too difficult. I like difficult games, but I also like a ramp up on difficulty and the hard controls with a narrow path and the fast moving platform at the beginning was asking a lot for the beginning of the game.

Xeke_Death says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

I lost all my points trying to pass the first level. Feels like it might be easier with a gamepad rather then arrow keys. It may be because I just woke up, but I couldn't get far in the second level either. Reminded me of the good old days playing Marble Madness.

robc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54am

Quite a fun little one.

It can be a challenge though (I was stuck on that second stage), but I did have a few laughs based on how my little robot did collide into things.

Certainly worth checking out :)

LaceySnr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:30am

Maybe next jam I'll make the difficulty curve a tad easier then :)

Jarrett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:23am

Fun game, but I as so terrible at it xD

shawn42 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:24pm

This does remind me of monkey ball. Very difficult on the first level, I made it well into the negative points! I got angry and addicted very quickly. Nice work.

anjack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:12am

Very addictive! I love the mechanic of going transparent/invisible as you speed up, it adds a new level of challenge.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:13am

Love the main character! Maybe the fade to invisible thing is a bit too much, I couldn't beat the second level.

LaceySnr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:59am

The third level is where the invisible thing really starts to hurt ;)

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:18am

I agree with @Xeke_Death ,the difficulty must be progressive, and grows slowly, add some goals and fx when you pick up things for example (particle effects), try with a trail in the char... It's a fun game, you can improve it

mchaza says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice, for a moment I thought the controls were no good until it clicked and I could control the robot off the edge in a much more respectable manner.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Found it tricky to control, easy to fall off, but then I am bad at these plummet at edges style games. Looks nice

Broxxar says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:18am

I like a challenge, but I felt like the challenge stemmed from poor control schema and not from solid controls and good level design. Still fun to play though.

LaceySnr says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:55am

Broxxar, that's a fair comment. The only level that was really designed properly is the third one, which involves a hard long jump!

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:07am

Not bad, but as people have said, its a bit hard. Mostly because he accelerates too fast.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]