April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimo

by mire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Minimo, my first Ludum Dare attempt. If you feel like you've seen this arrangement of characters before, you're probably not wrong.

The original idea was to build up rhythmic themes using the boss's actions for percussion and the princess's for melody, with the player providing the life. I wasn't able to get that concept working to my satisfaction in the time frame, so I chose to make some minor modifications to make it more of a statement on the damsel in distress trope, and the futile and repetitious nature of games in general.

Music is courtesy of Pete Gresser, who kindly made his soundtrack for Reimagine (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/569281) available under Creative Commons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Humor2.94
#328Audio3.08
#376Mood3.12
#408Fun3.15
#576Overall3.15
#632Theme3.46
#753Innovation2.88
#789Graphics2.73
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

Perma death makes this very difficult. Really could use a life system, or simply restarting the current world on death and not the whole game.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Cool concept, pretty tough. Liked the 'tutorial' :)

larsendt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

Surprisingly difficult!

ecool377 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

awesome

puttputt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Having to restart is quite frustrating, but it adds an interesting flavour to the game. You know what to expect after each death so you develop a pattern as you play. Really cool!

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

I liked the concept of the evolving boss. I didn't like that I had to start from zero every time. I suck at jumping games so I died many times.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Yeah, this game could definitely use a save system. The concept is pretty cool though and the audio cue makes it easier for a human to remember the pattern and predict :P

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Nice but I found it to become quite challenging really quickly.

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44am

Fun gameplay, but I second Broxxar on restarting the current level on death.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Really liked the music. But wow this is difficult

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:39am

Quite frustrating to restart every time. Hard!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41am

A bit frustrating as others mentioned. It would be lovely if you restarted at the beginning of the same level. The timing can be tricky to get right.

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:07am

This was a cool concept. Restarting made this game more difficult than it really was. I liked the afro on the main character. Nice work.

alts says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:28am

I liked the way that the improving enemy would force the player to reestablish a pattern to solve the level. While I think restarting from the beginning is a bit harsh, I wouldn't mind it if I felt that losing was fair. I found myself wrestling with the controls more that with the enemy. Changing the control configuration away from the default helped greatly.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:25pm

interesting game. Good job for your first entry.

mkpictures says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:54am

Great game for the your first entry!
It's reaaaally hard to start over at the beginning, but you progress by knowing the enemy pattern ( as a shmupper, I know what it's to learn patterns xD ).
I really enjoyed it :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]