April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cobalism

by woftles - Jam Entry

Cobalism is a minimalistic top-down dungeon crawling shooter. You have 2 goals, surviving, and getting as many points doing so.

Travel through a randomly generated research facility infinitely becoming more difficult to survive in, hunting personal defense drones and racking up the points in this thrilling yet simple action game. Advance difficulty by finding the exit and progressing to the next dungeon.

Controls: In-game

Game was created by Adrian Alberto and Andrew Fairbairn using the LOVE framework.

Sounds created using Bfxr by Andrew Fairbairn.

--

This has been the first Ludum Dare we've entered, it's really opened our eyes to future opportunities, game jams are something that we're definitely going to adopt as part of our future. Great experience, we had fun doing it and we hope you enjoy the game.

Attached is a .love file, for use on all platforms.

--

Rare bug occurs during run-time: Error in Entities.lua, we are aware of the bug and we hope to fix it.

EDIT: Should be fixed. Also repackaged the Windows link it's now .zip with the DLLs included. Sorry about that. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#405Theme(Jam)2.86
#414Audio(Jam)2.05
#444Fun(Jam)2.36
#454Mood(Jam)2.33
#496Overall(Jam)2.48
#510Innovation(Jam)2.05
#515Graphics(Jam)2.18
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Can't run the Windows link because DevIL.dll is missing from my computer. I'm sad because this game looks really fun from the screen shots.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

DLL Error =O(

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

To distribute, include the dlls that are in C:\Program Files (x86)\Love\ inside the zip file that contains the exe you made. https://www.love2d.org/wiki/Game_Distribution

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Also if anyone wants to just play the game, install Love (very quick) and then double click the cobalism.love file from the "All Platforms" link the developers made on this page.

woftles says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06am

Whoops, completely forgot about the DLLs, they're now in the zip.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37am

Pretty nice game. The AI was well done and both shooting and exploring were fun. It did lag a little on my computer (I use Windows 7), but not to the point of detracting from enjoyment. Great entry!

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:49am

A fun and quirk top-down!

Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:59am

This is a nice game! I had some trouble with the guys who fly at you though - I couldn't hit them when they were right on top of me.

Also, I think I experienced a sound bug. The same sound (a bleep) would repeat over and over with an unpleasant crackling (like the walking sounds being played over and over, maybe.)

Aceria says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:30am

The camera system is pretty slick to use and initially it is pretty entertaining to explore the area and fight your way to the next level. However, this soon gets very repetitive and before long starts feeling dull. The experience could benefit from some music playing in the back. It can get pretty annoying when I can't find the stairs to the next level. Perhaps the levels could be smaller or an indicator could guide players to the next level after a while. Overall, pretty entertaining but lacking finesse. Keep it up!

woftles says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:51am

Here's a small tip for those little flying buggers: They have to accelerate towards you, so you can swing them around and get them to orbit you instead of sitting on you.

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:19am

I liked the gameplay, but the sound was both loud and a bit too much. The whole time I heard a crackling that sounded like a problem with my computer :)

+1 for LOVE!

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Absolutely loved the procedural level design and the audio was pretty good. Those flying red things are a bit annoying though XD

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice little survival game. It was worth installing love (linux), eventhough there was no sound (as it should be? it was written in the credits. pulseaudio seems to be activated, but no delicious bfxr-sounds :( for me)
All in all: good job!

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:01am

Levels are rather empty, with no apparent goal.

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:04am

Let me correct that: _the_ level is rather empty. I explored a bit, killed several enemies, and it seemed there was nothing else to do so I quit.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]